View Your Wish List


Item added to your basket.

It's All Around You
It's All Around You
Thrill Jockey
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 2004
  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    • Pressed on colored vinyl
    • 2016 re-issue
    • Packaged in a high gloss LP jacket with high gloss inner sleeve
    • Includes download card

    In stock, shipping now.

Show All Formats Gift This Product …

Ten tracks of exquisite post-rock/electronic melancholy from everybody’s favourite Thrill Jockey Chicagoans, Tortoise – pressed up on a sparkling reissue for the 2016 crew. One of the most laid-back releases in the Tortoise catalogue, It’s All Around You is also their saddest. From the graceful New Age meets musak piano/keys of ‘Crest’ to the hushed drum work out of ‘Unknown’ or the Boards of Canada sleepwalk of ‘By Dawn’ these tracks hum with a mournful, 4AM in Winter vibe; empty red wine glasses, orange-fireside glow, hangdog eyes. It’s beautiful. If you want a sample, check album highlight ‘The Lithium Stiffs’ which sets the tone for this record: a delicious shiver of French 60s Pop processed through Tortoise FX and keys, if you aren’t won over after that… you are dead inside.

Read More
  1. 1 It's All Around You 4:09 Tortoise Buy
  2. 2 The Lithium Stiffs 3:59 Tortoise Buy
  3. 3 Crest 4:21 Tortoise Buy
  4. 4 Stretch (You Are All Right) 5:14 Tortoise Buy
  5. 5 Unknown 5:38 Tortoise Buy
  6. 6 Dot/Eyes 3:46 Tortoise Buy
  7. 7 On The Chin 5:21 Tortoise Buy
  8. 8 By Dawn 1:51 Tortoise Buy
  9. 9 Five Too Many 4:33 Tortoise Buy
  10. 10 Salt The Skies 4:45 Tortoise Buy


Thrill Jockey

View More Thrill Jockey

Alternative and Indie

View More Alternative and Indie


View More 2000s

Vinyl Reissue

View More Vinyl Reissue

Limited Editions

View More Limited Editions
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.