Item added to your cart.

Beacons Of Ancestorship
Thrill Jockey
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 15, 2009


Tortoise supply us with eleven brilliant tracks of dismembered post-post rock from their 2009 masterpiece. With Beacons Of Ancestorship the Chicagoans have –yet again- bent genre conventions sideways. There are few languid spirals of post-rock guitar noise, but rather arcing, drama-fuelled Morricone guitars, skewed math-funk rhythms, textured analogue electronics (think Cluster, Harmonia, Neu!), and a surprisingly heavy post-Dilla beat science at play. A fun, immensely rewarding record pressed up on deluxe clear vinyl by the keepers of the Tortoise flame, Thrill Jockey.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 High Class Slim Came Floatin' In 8:14 Buy

    High Class Slim Came Floatin' In

  2. 2 Prepare Your Coffin 3:37 Buy

    Prepare Your Coffin

  3. 3 Northern Something 2:24 Buy

    Northern Something

  4. 4 Gigantes 6:21 Buy
  5. 5 Penumbra 1:08 Buy
  6. 6 Yinxianghechengqi 3:37 Buy


  7. 7 The Fall Of Seven Diamonds Plus One 3:40 Buy

    The Fall Of Seven Diamonds Plus One

  8. 8 Minors 4:23 Buy
  9. 9 Monument Six One Thousand 3:22 Buy

    Monument Six One Thousand

  10. 10 de Chelly 1:46 Buy
  11. 11 Charteroak Foundation 5:07 Buy

    Charteroak Foundation


View More

Thrill Jockey

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences