Item added to your cart.

Four Tet
Sixteen Oceans
Text Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 13, 2020

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl purchases.


With the releases of the Anna Painting and Teenage Birdsong EPs in 2019 it was clear that Four Tet was gearing up for something big in the new year. What arrives is Sixteen Oceans, the producer’s first LP since 2017’s much-vaunted New Energy. The one born Kieran Hebden makes good on the ‘sixteen’ of the record’s title here by stuffing the record with just as many tracks. In fact, with its mysterious D-side offering - we’re not going to let slip what it is - Sixteen Oceans runs to an even greater length. It’s certainly a bumper set.

Sixteen Oceans also somewhat reconfigures the Four Tet sound. New Energy reached back to the folksy style of Hebden’s early output, its tuned percussion and stringed instruments spilling out over the sides of his beats. There’s a little less of that here, something evidenced by Sixteen Oceans’ lead singles. The aforementioned ‘Teenage Birdsong’ appears once again, its lilting downtempo hip-hop drums and chirping lead-line coming off like a more cerebral Gold Panda joint. Meanwhile ‘Baby’ is a crisp two-step garage jam built around the chopped-up vocals of none other than Ellie Goulding. These tracks hark back to the crisp techno cuts Hebden was producing around the time of Pink and There Is Love In You.

However, the new-age sonics that dictated New Energy are far from done away with on Sixteen Oceans. ‘Insect Near Piha Beach’ contains a similar drumbeat to ‘Baby’ but treats it with cerebral string tones derived from Laraaji. There are also plenty of occasions here where Hebden does away with the beats entirely to really lean into the more weightless sides of his sound - ‘Green’, ‘Harpsichord’, ‘Mama Teaches Sanskrit’ and ‘4T Recordings’ are all gorgeous ambient tracks helmed by dawn-chorus electronics.

Four Tet realigns his sound a little on Sixteen Oceans, the project’s first full-length record since 2017.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 School 4:02 Buy
  2. 2 Baby 4:24 Buy
  3. 3 Harpsichord 2:54 Buy
  4. 4 Teenage Birdsong 3:25 Buy

    Teenage Birdsong

  5. 5 Romantics 4:57 Buy
  6. 6 Love Salad 7:20 Buy
  7. 7 Insect Near Piha Beach 5:16 Buy

    Insect Near Piha Beach

  8. 8 Hi Hello 0:49 Buy
  9. 9 ISTM 0:41 Buy
  10. 10 Something in the Sadness 5:12 Buy

    Something in the Sadness

Show All Tracks 16

LP Tracklisting
A1 School
A2 Baby
A3 Harpsichord
A4 Teenage Birdsong
A5 Romantics

B1 Love Salad
B2 Insect Near Piha Beach
B3 Hi Hello
B5 Something In The Sadness

C1 1993 Band Practice
C2 Green
C3 Bubbles At Overlook 25th March 2019
C4 4T Recordings
C5 This Is For You
C6 Mama Teaches Sanskrit

CD Tracklisting
01 School
02 Baby
03 Harpsichord
04 Teenage Birdsong
05 Romantics
06 Love Salad
07 Insect Near Piha Beach
08 Hi Hello
10 Something In The Sadness
11 1993 Band Practice
12 Green
13 Bubbles At Overlook 25th March 2019
14 4T Recordings
15 This Is For You
16 Mama Teaches Sanskrit

  • Sixteen Oceans

Four Tet

View More

Text Records

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Album of the Week

View More

2020 Mid Year Roundup

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences