Item added to your basket.

John Maus
Ribbon Music
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 2006
  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    • + MP3
    • Pressed on 180gram heavyweight vinyl
    • Audio sourced from the original masters and lacquers cut at Abbey Road Mastering

    In stock, shipping now.

Gift This Product

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl purchases.

Here we find Ribbon Music (Omar Souleyman, Black Dice) reissuing the debut LP from pop’s premier existentialist John Maus. Originally put out in 2006, the forthrightly-entitled Songs plunges us head-first into a singular aesthetic. Of course, history remembers Maus standing alongside his pal Ariel Pink as one of the progenitors of hypnagogic pop, and the likes of ‘I’m Only Human’ and ‘It Takes Time’ are still striking, pink-elephantine trips. However, the sixteen short entries of Songs also include hyper-lo-fi home-taping vignettes (‘That Night’) and evocative, droning incantations (‘Forever and Ever and Ever’). With this re-release coming off the back of recent Maus full-length Addendum, this is a fine time to reacquaint yourself with one of the more original musical stylists of the 21st Century.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Opening 1:09 John Maus Buy
  2. 2 Time To Die 3:25 John Maus Buy
  3. 3 Don't Be A Body 3:13 John Maus Buy
  4. 4 That Night 1:13 John Maus Buy
  5. 5 Real Bad Job 2:39 John Maus Buy
  6. 6 Forever And Ever And Ever 4:16 John Maus Buy
  7. 7 Maniac 3:35 John Maus Buy
  8. 8 Just Wait Til Next Year 2:26 John Maus Buy
  9. 9 I'm Only Human 2:42 John Maus Buy
  10. 10 Less Talk More Action 1:46 John Maus Buy
Show All 16 Tracks

John Maus

Ribbon Music

View More

Alternative and Indie

View More


View More

Vinyl Reissue

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.