Item added to your cart.

Human Energy
Ninja Tune
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 30, 2016

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Machinedrum’s Travis Stewart finds new spirituality on his first solo album since 2013’s Vapor City: Human Energy, which arrives on Ninja Tune like its predecessor, takes inspiration from esoteric and new age concepts. Stepping into his great grandfather’s footsteps who was a healer, Stewart explores music’s power of invigorating energy. Less dreamy, but more lively than Vapor City, his detailed drum’n’bass-led synth arrangements follow bold, catchy melodies – which he caters for with a long list of contributors. Frequent collaborator Dawn Richard lends her modern voice to the soulful ‘Do it 4 U’, while Beyonce affiliate MeLo X accounts for the vocal chops on ‘Angel Speak’, a true banger with its HudMo-like brass sounds.

With its frantic elements, the first single ‘Dos Puertos’ with Brooklyn rapper and Rihanna collaborator Kevin Hussein recollects Stewart’s earlier jungle style, but overall Human Energy has a more digital aesthetic to it. Its beats are accentuated and radiate the Californian sunshine Stewart injected into his production after his recent move there – which also explains some of the healing energy’s origin. A fresh and bold record that glimmers in the sun ready to move and energise you.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Lapis Machinedrum 2:09 Buy
  2. 2 Morphogene Machinedrum featuring Ruckazoid 3:41 Buy
  3. 3 Angel Speak Machinedrum featuring MeLo-X 3:26 Buy
  4. 4 Tell U Machinedrum featuring Rochelle Jordan 3:20 Buy
  5. 5 Surfed Out Machinedrum 0:45 Buy
  6. 6 Do It 4 U Machinedrum featuring D∆WN 3:40 Buy
  7. 7 Celestial Levels Machinedrum featuring Jesse Boykins III 2:38 Buy
  8. 8 Isometrix Machinedrum 3:13 Buy
  9. 9 Spectrum Sequence Machinedrum 2:16 Buy
  10. 10 White Crown Machinedrum featuring Tosin Abasi 3:17 Buy
  11. 11 Ocean of Thought Machinedrum 2:56 Buy
  12. 12 Etheric Body Temple Machinedrum 1:37 Buy
  13. 13 Dos Puertas Machinedrum featuring Kevin Hussein 3:02 Buy
  14. 14 Opalescent Machinedrum 3:03 Buy
  15. 15 Colour Communicator Machinedrum 2:50 Buy


View More

Ninja Tune

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More


View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences