Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Somewhere Between: Mutant Pop, Electronic Minimalism & Shadow Sounds of Japan 1980-1988
Light In The Attic
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 29, 2021


Having mined pretty deep down into the disparate ambient, city pop, AOR and new age worlds of 1970s-1990s Japan, Light In The Attic show that we still don't even know half of the story. Somewhere Between: Mutant Pop, Electronic Minimalism & Shadow Sounds of Japan 1980-1988 fittingly nestles somewhere in the middle as a Japanese electronic post-punk analogue, in which the icy Human League-esque synths of ‘Arrows & Eyes’ and the drum machine-led pop of Takami Hasegawa’s ‘Koneko To Watashi’ nudges up against the dark environmental music of R.N.A-ORGANISM’s ‘WEIMAR 22’ and the Joy Division-ish austerity of Naoki Asai’s ‘Yakan Hikou’.

First-ever officially licensed compilation of this kind
Artwork by noted illustrator/designer Koichi Sato
New liner notes by Mark “Frosty” McNeill

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

  1. 1 Arrows & Eyes Noriko Miyamoto 0:30
  2. 2 Hikari No Ito Kin No Ito Mishio Ogawa 0:30
  3. 3 Days Man Yoshio Ojima 0:30
  4. 4 Tira-Rin Mkwaju Ensemble 0:30
  5. 5 WEIMAR 22 R.N.A-ORGANISM 0:30
  6. 6 Yakan Hikou Naoki Asai 0:30
  7. 7 Koneko To Watashi Takami Hasegawa 0:30
  8. 8 Mizu No Naka No Himitsu Mammy 0:30
  9. 9 Hasu No Enishi Dip In The Pool 0:30
  10. 10 Akatere Wha Ha Ha 0:30
  11. 11 Sweet Sultan D-Day 0:30
  12. 12 Dark Disco-Da·Da·Da·Da·Run Perfect Mother 0:30
  13. 13 Area Neo Museum 0:30
  14. 14 Wedding With God (À Nijinski) Sonoko 0:30

Track List

Noriko Miyamoto - Arrows & Eyes
Mishio Ogawa - Hikari No Ito Kin No Ito
Yoshio Ojima - Days Man
Mkwaju Ensemble - Tira-Rin
Naoki Asai - Yakan Hikou
Takami Hasegawa - Koneko To Watashi
Mammy - Mizu No Naka No Himitsu
Dip in the Pool - Hasu No Enishi
Wha Ha Ha - Akatere
D-Day - Sweet Sultan
Perfect Mother - Dark Disco-Da·Da·Da·Da·Run
Neo Museum - Area
Sonoko - Wedding With God (À Nijinski)
Note: The track “Days Man” by Yoshio Ojima is only available on the LP and Cassette versions

Light In The Attic

View More


View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences