Item added to your cart.

New Beta Vol. II
XL Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 20, 2018


The second volume of New Beta tracks from Powell arrives in a set of seven tracks of pure analoggins abstraction. Moving even further away from the post-punk crunch of his early material and XL's buzzin' Sport LP, New Beta Vol.2 sees Powell venture further into the remit of abstract electronica yet hits the nail on the head in his unique Diagonal no wave-rave style.

While everything Powell produces is created with a weight of seriousness that ensures even in its cheekiest moments it never steps across the line into daftness, the New Beta series to date seemingly showcases his ability to have a lot of fun in the studio, while also making some killer tracks. Elements of his crew and influence shine strong such as the Autechre style abstractions of PosTAe, while DruMz VIP sounds like Doc Scott has been pixelated. Yet the killer album ender Strobe is the one for us, imagine a new age leaning Lorenzo Senni and EVOL collab and you may well have this one sussed. Highly recommended.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 PosTAe 2:40 Buy
  2. 2 Sneak 2_05 4:37 Buy
  3. 3 Rudeboy, Let's Funk 4:29 Buy

    Rudeboy, Let's Funk

  4. 4 Slippy Pig 3:39 Buy
  5. 5 Drumz VIP 4:46 Buy
  6. 6 Hoi!! 1:14 Buy
  7. 7 Strobe 4:02 Buy


View More


XL Recordings

View More

Minimal Wave and Post-punk

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences