Item added to your cart.

flash across the intervals ↯ bundle ↯
A Folder
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 11, 2020
  • Bundle:

    • flash across the intervals Vinyl, 1×LP

    • Select option
    • Select option
    • Select option
    • hiya !!, mail_assemblage_combo_pdf File

    • Select option

    Available: September 18, 2020

Super-limited run of the first ever release on Powell's own imprint 'a ƒolder'. Includes 4-page text insert written by Oscar Powell.

The 'flash across the intervals' bundle exclusive to Bleep and made available to celebrate the first physical vinyl release on a ƒolder. The bundle includes:

1 of only ✰ 250 vinyl editions ✰ of flash across the intervals, including a 4-page insert written under lockdown by one/all of the artists involved; sleeve art by Michael Amstad and Marte Eknæs.

1 of only ✰ 40 ✰ A2 prints created by Michael Amstad and Marte Eknæs to mark the opening of a ƒolder in 2020 [limited to one per customer].

1 ▷ flash across the intervals_album_dl — sister album to the below

1 ▷ multiply the sides_album_dl — sister album to the above

1 ▷notes on a ƒolder_ep_dl — accompaniment to the above

1 ☀︎ virtual edition of mail exchanges between contributors

flash across the intervals emerges via Michael Amstad, Mathias Gmachl, Marte Eknæs and Oscar Powell's new project: a ƒolder.

Like multiply the sides, an album which is something of a sister-piece to flash across the intervals, this is a challenging and highly original set of music, one that refuses easy interpretation. The sense that you’re about to engage with a singular composition is heightened even before you press play on flash across the intervals. One is encouraged to listen to these four tracks alone, in combination or all together at once, an effect that we once came across on The Flaming Lips’ Zaireeka.

However, Powell’s sound-art is nothing like the post-White Album prog of Coyne and the gang. Instead, Powell focuses on sparse musique concrete. Across the record we find him taking one or two instruments at a time, turning them over carefully or pulling them apart until their tones start to resemble the most erstwhile glitches of Oval. A lot of the gurgling, sputtering sounds - sounds that might or might not be synths - push one to think of an ultra-oxidised version of PC Music, one where the original timbres have been mangled beyond recognition by a Laurie Tompkins or Territorial Gobbing.

Powell’s flash across the intervals is an electroacoustic experiment to be experienced track-by-track or, for the adventurous, all at once. 'multi-mendy 1-3 recombined' of which is taken from the video piece below, by Michael Amstad and Marte Eknæs.

  1. 1 flash across the intervals-001-Powell-transkak, flow1 6:49
  2. 2 flash across the intervals-002-Powell-performance to a harsh critic 5:05
  3. 3 flash across the intervals-003-Powell-multi-mendy 1-3, recombined 17:48
  4. 4 flash across the intervals-004-Powell-the bells, mosaic 4:55
  5. 5 multiply the sides-001-Powell-transposer, 2 2:13
  6. 6 multiply the sides-002-Powell-difference, mosaic 2 6:09
  7. 7 multiply the sides-003-Powell- difference, for nik 3:05
  8. 8 multiply the sides-004-Powell-into a fold, 1 1:16
  9. 9 multiply the sides-005-Powell-into a fold, 2 1:31
  10. 10 multiply the sides-006-Powell-into a fold, 3 4:15
Show All Tracks 23


View More


A Folder

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences