Item added to your cart.

Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 6, 2015

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Nothing is the first ever solo album from Hyperdub boss Kode9 – his first two albums, Memories of the Future (2006) and Black Sun (2012), were both made with frequent collaborator The Spaceape before his death from cancer in 2014. Grime, dubstep, and footwork form the cornerstones of Nothing, with Kode9 channelling the energy of these musical obsessions into a collection of icy 150bpm tracks that recall his ‘Xingfu Lu’ and ‘Ok’ singles more than his previous albums. Rifling through a sample bank of horror movie soundtracks, J-Pop and more, Nothing comprises a melting pot of amalgamated sounds that fritters between the sickly sweet vocal chops on ‘Holo’, through classy piano stabs and mind-melting arpeggios on ‘Vacuum Packed’ and the airy footwork styling of ‘Respirator’. Despite its tear-out moments, there is a lingering sadness to Nothing, from the haunted melodies of ‘Notel’ to the posthumous appearance of The Spaceape on ‘Third Ear Transmission’ to the empty nine-minute silence that closes the record on ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Zero Point Energy Kode9 1:44 Buy

    Zero Point Energy

  2. 2 Notel Kode9 2:56 Buy
  3. 3 Void Kode9 2:59 Buy
  4. 4 Holo Kode9 3:27 Buy
  5. 5 Third Ear Transmission Kode9 & The Spaceape 1:21 Buy

    Third Ear Transmission

  6. 6 Zero Work Kode9 3:43 Buy
  7. 7 Vacuum Packed Kode9 4:54 Buy
  8. 8 Wu Wei Kode9 3:31 Buy
  9. 9 Casimir Effect Kode9 2:21 Buy

    Casimir Effect

  10. 10 Respirator Kode9 3:21 Buy
  11. 11 Mirage Kode9 3:10 Buy
  12. 12 9 Drones Kode9 3:14 Buy
  13. 13 Nothing Lasts Forever Kode9 10:09 Buy

    Nothing Lasts Forever


View More


View More


Albums of the Year 2015

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences