Item added to your cart.

These New Puritans
Hidden [MMXX]
Domino Recording Co
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 4, 2020


Press Release

Domino are delighted to be celebrating the 10-year anniversary of These New Puritans’ Hidden with Hidden [MMXX] - a re-issue of the original album in its full glory accompanied by new and unreleased material from the Hidden sessions. All set for release on 4th December 2020. As the These New Puritans canon has grown through the years, Hidden has always stood as the great indicator of the group's detail, precision and ambition. Originally released in 2010, when both Jack and George Barnett were just 22 years old, Hidden was the second album the twins released as These New Puritans. The album itself was produced by TNP's Jack Barnett and Graham Sutton (Bark Psychosis, Boymerang) and mixed by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, MF DOOM), it draws on both the rhythmic lexicons of dancehall and 20th century post-minimalism, the recording features 6ft Japanese Taiko drums, a thirteen piece brass and woodwind ensemble, sub-heavy beats, prepared piano & a children's choir. The result is equal parts brutal and melancholy, standing the test of time, sounding as pioneering and bold a decade on. Hidden is a record that crushes together menace and beauty: after the prelude of woodwind that is “Time Xone”, “We Want War” remains one of the most startling tracks to be released as a single in this millennium - a sound like swarms of invading, metallic wasps, robotic voices intoning, the martial rattle of layers of drums, Jack Barnett’s vocals an incantation. The militant funk of “Three Thousand”, strange skittish jazz in “Hologram”, and “Drum Courts - Where Corals Lie” feels like an ancient, elegiac folk song carried forth on a storm. A record of intense variety, soul and depth, Hidden is remarkable by anyone’s standards, let alone one made by a group of people barely out of their teens. Through the extremes of recording, These New Puritans had a critical hit. It was rightly lauded for its singularity and adventure at the time and found the group a legion of loyal fans and was given NME’s prestigious Album of the Year 2010 accolade. Further to the record, it spawned the Hidden Live tour, featuring a large ensemble, conductor Andre De Ridder, and a kids choir.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Time Xone 2:06 Buy
  2. 2 We Want War 7:23 Buy
  3. 3 Three Thousand 2:49 Buy

    Three Thousand

  4. 4 Hologram 2:22 Buy
  5. 5 Attack Music 4:48 Buy
  6. 6 Fire-Power 3:20 Buy
  7. 7 Orion 4:31 Buy
  8. 8 Canticle 1:12 Buy
  9. 9 Drum Courts-Where Corals Lie 6:14 Buy

    Drum Courts-Where Corals Lie

  10. 10 White Chords 3:42 Buy
Show All Tracks 17

Track List

Disc 1

  1. Time Xone
  2. We Want War
  3. Three Thousand
  4. Hologram
  5. Attack Music
  6. Fire–Power
  7. Orion
  8. Canticle
  9. Drum Courts–Where Corals Lie
  10. White Chords
  11. 5

Disc 2

  1. Hologram Pianos
  2. We Want War Brass & Woodwind
  3. 5 Mallets
  4. Hologram Chamber Mix
  5. Drum Courts Hidden Live Paris
  6. Irreversible¬¬–En Papier Hidden Live Berlin
  • Hidden [MMXX]

These New Puritans

View More

Domino Recording Co

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Vinyl Reissue

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences