Item added to your cart.

Szun Waves
New Hymn To Freedom
The Leaf Label
Catalogue Number
BAY 111E
Release Date
August 31, 2018


The second LP from Szun Waves arrives courtesy of The Leaf Label (Melt Yourself Down, Warmduscher). Given that this trio feature Notown/Border Community artist Luke Abbott, Portico Quartet drummer Jack Wyllie and Laurence Pike (a Leaf solo artist in his own right), it’s not unreasonable to go into New Hymn To Freedom with high expectations. Across these six lengthy numbers, the group more than deliver. Szun Waves mix influences from Krautrock, jazz, drone and more with an air of general dawn-chorus prettiness. Fellow Leaf signees The Comet Is Coming spring to mind on entries like ‘High Szun’, and there’s more than a hint of Boards Of Canada to ‘Moon Runes’ and ‘Constellation’.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Constellation 5:36 Buy


  2. 2 Fall Into Water 6:52 Buy

    Fall Into Water

  3. 3 High Szun 7:05 Buy

    High Szun

  4. 4 Temple 6:51 Buy


  5. 5 Moon Runes 5:58 Buy

    Moon Runes

  6. 6 New Hymn To Freedom 12:17 Buy

    New Hymn To Freedom

Szun Waves

The Leaf Label

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences