Item added to your cart.

Ninja Tune
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 14, 2022


Following 3 Grammy nominations and the astounding reception of his previous album Migration in 2017, Fragments announces a new chapter for Bonobo. Its many movements glow in perpetual transformation, inspired by his escapes into the wild. In its intricate enmeshing of electronica with live instrumentation, the distinct moments of creativity and collaboration embedded deep within shine through.

The album prolifically features a musical A-list - of Jamila Woods, Joji, Kadhja Bonet, Jordan Rakei, O’Flynn, and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson - composing a collective work of heterogeneous dimensions and with an all-encompassing significance. In introspectively distilling many reflections made amidst the standstill of a global lockdown, it reveals Simon Green’s most impassioned songwriting to date. With clear influences of UK bass and rave cultures, it builds on melancholic themes with hope for a world of human interaction and dancing.

Fragment’s 12 tracks play in a series of affecting moments, a gradual, ecstatic unfolding as it was composed. Mixed by Green himself over the last 2 years, its motifs coalesced organically, through the recording of live orchestras and from working alongside acclaimed arranger Miguel Atwood-Ferguson. Tides, created with Chicago-based singer and poet Jamila Woods, was a catalytic centre-piece around which the album pieced itself together. More bass heavy directions in Sapien take a different focussed more directly at the dancefloor, likewise Otomo which was produced by O’Flynn (Blip Discs, Silver Bear). In the record’s second half, ballads narrate a sentimental journey, with 'Day by Day' featuring Kadhja Bonet and 'From You' featuring Joji.

A welcome return for Bonobo, defining the infinite possibility to bridge electronica with other worlds once again. With his artistry, Fragments executes ubiquitous charm with utmost sophistication.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Polyghost Bonobo featuring Miguel Atwood-Ferguson 1:48 Buy
  2. 2 Shadows Bonobo featuring Jordan Rakei 4:45 Buy
  3. 3 Rosewood Bonobo 4:02 Buy
  4. 4 Otomo Bonobo featuring O?Flynn 6:11 Buy
  5. 5 Tides Bonobo featuring Jamila Woods 3:46 Buy
  6. 6 Elysian Bonobo 3:02 Buy
  7. 7 Closer Bonobo 5:11 Buy
  8. 8 Age of Phase Bonobo 5:42 Buy
  9. 9 From You Bonobo featuring Joji 3:30 Buy
  10. 10 Counterpart Bonobo 5:32 Buy
  11. 11 Sapien Bonobo 4:03 Buy
  12. 12 Day by Day Bonobo featuring Kadhja Bonet 3:44 Buy

Track List

  1. Polyghost (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
  2. Shadows (feat. Jordan Rakei)
  3. Rosewood
  4. Otomo (feat. O’Flynn)
  5. Tides (feat. Jamila Woods)
  6. Elysian
  7. Closer
  8. Age of Phase
  9. From You (feat. Joji)
  10. Counterpart
  11. Sapien
  12. Day by Day (feat. Kadhja Bonet)


View More


Ninja Tune

View More


View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Limited Editions

Album of the Week

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences