Item added to your cart.

The Alias Sessions
The Leaf Label
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 21, 2021

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Murcof’s visionary double album produced in collaboration with Geneva-based dance company Alias pushes his finely tuned meticulous sound design in an abstract new direction. Modular synthesis combined with organic elements of field recordings, treated vocals and metallic percussion to form stunning extraterrestrial compositions.

Drawing parallels to Alessandro Cortini or Jóhann Jóhannsson and Yair Elazar Glotman’s score to the First and Last Men film, these compositions evoke oblique feelings of familiarity and simultaneously something completely extraterrestrial. The choreography led by Guilherme Botelho is equally as playful in what is humanly possible with movement and form. Thundering drums can be heard on ‘Unboxing Utopia’, a piece that builds to a revelatory point that lives up to its name, similarly ‘Underwater Lament’ oscillates at pace towards a shuddering crescendo.

A breathtaking album of crushingly beautiful compositions from an artist operating with aspirational vision.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Inner Hunt 3:54 Buy
  2. 2 Dandelion Heart 5:33 Buy

    Dandelion Heart

  3. 3 Unboxing Utopia 9:39 Buy

    Unboxing Utopia

  4. 4 Nocturnal Sunrise 4:35 Buy

    Nocturnal Sunrise

  5. 5 Underwater Lament 5:20 Buy

    Underwater Lament

  6. 6 Inevitable Truth 4:26 Buy

    Inevitable Truth

  7. 7 Between Thoughts 3:41 Buy

    Between Thoughts

  8. 8 Dropped Soul 1:18 Buy
  9. 9 Shadow Surfing 8:30 Buy

    Shadow Surfing

  10. 10 Surface Wear 3:50 Buy
Show All Tracks 16

Track List

CD1 LP Contre-Mondes.
A1. Inner Hunt
A2. Dandelion Heart
A3. Unboxing Utopia
B1. Nocturnal Sunrise
B2. Underwater Lament
B3. Inevitable Truth
C1. Between Thoughts
C2. Dropped Soul
C3. Shadow Surfing

CD2 LP Normal.
D1. Surface Wear
D2. Ideology Storm
D3. Dividing Space
E1. Fire Thief
E2. Systemic Amnesia
F1. Unread Letter
F2. Void Glance

  • The Alias Sessions

  • The Alias Sessions


View More

The Leaf Label

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences