Item added to your cart.

Sunn O))) and Boris
Southern Lord
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 1, 2009


This collaboration between Southern Lord's doom masters, is everything that it promises to be, as Sunn O))) and Boris conceptualise, write and record together. This album picks up on the best parts of both bands and pushes them forward over a series of very different tracks, ranging from the eruption of opening instrumental workout of Etna, to the beautiful and serene Sinking Belle with Jesse Sykes' (both of Jesse Sykes and the Sweet Hereafter) delicate spiritual vocals. Throughout the album, the group employ more electronics, more treatments and a more diverse range of atmospheres to present their vision, and it really works, bolstered by guest spots from Kim Thayil (Soundgarden) and long time Sunn O))) collaborators TOS Niewenhuizen and Rex Ritter. A highlight of note among this collaboration of all wins is is Akuma No Kuma, sounding like Black Sabbath's 'Iron Man taken to it's logical conclusion with, Joe Preston's (Thrones, Melvins, Earth, High On Fire) voice vocodered over banks of vintage electronics and bass. It's a killer track, sounding like the futuristic musical equivalent of Mobeius' science-fiction comic that coined the term 'Heavy Metal', psychedelic iron machines tripping through torn metal landscapes. Topping this all off, as ever with Southern Lord's output the sleeve is absolutely immaculate, stunningly beautiful, with enveloping artwork from Aaron Horkey.

Track List

Side A : Etna

Side B : N.L.T. , The Sinking Belle (Blue Sheep)

Side C : Akuma No Kuma, Fried Eagle Mind.

Side D : Blood Swamp.

Southern Lord

View More

Drone and Metal

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences