Item added to your cart.

Hakushi Hasegawa
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 24, 2024

Instant download of track: 'Boy’s Texture' with all pre-orders.

Full release delivered on release date: 07.24.24

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.

“Mahōgakkō” is the new album by Hakushi Hasegawa (They/Them pronouns) – a musician/singer-songwriter based in Tokyo, Japan, and the first Japanese artist signed to Flying Lotus’ Brainfeeder label. The record includes the singles ‘Mouth Flash (Kuchinohanabi)’ – featuring bass wizard Sam Wilkes (Leaving Records) – and ‘Boy’s Texture’ plus ‘Gone’ with rapper KID FRESINO. Consistent with Brainfeeder’s ethos of seeking out artists operating outside the confines of genre since the label started in 2008, Hakushi’s music is tricky to categorize as it straddles a few genres: alternative, electronic, jazz, pop/J-pop. Sometimes it’s pretty, at times it’s very intense and fast-paced. The FADER described ‘Mouth Flash’ as “wild-eyed free-associated beat poetry delivered through achingly beautiful melody”. Their music’s singular character has earned Hakushi plaudits from Crack Magazine, Needledrop (Anthony Fantano), XLR8R, Paste, Jazziz, Bandcamp Weekly, and Tone Glow.

Recommended if you like… Iglooghost, Louis Cole, Thundercat

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Departed Hakushi Hasegawa 2:14
  2. 2 Gone Hakushi Hasegawa and KID FRESINO 2:14
  3. 3 Mouth Flash (Kuchinohanabi) Hakushi Hasegawa 3:50
  4. 4 Repeal (Tekkai) Hakushi Hasegawa 2:33
  5. 5 The Blossom and the Thunder Hakushi Hasegawa 4:08
  6. 6 KYŌFUNOHOSHI Hakushi Hasegawa 3:44
  7. 7 NENNEKOKOROMI Hakushi Hasegawa 0:56
  8. 8 Forbidden Thing (Kimmotsu) Hakushi Hasegawa 4:44
  9. 9 Mahōinter (v2) Hakushi Hasegawa 0:30
  10. 10 Boy’s Texture Hakushi Hasegawa 4:04 Buy

    Boy’s Texture

  11. 11 Enbami Hakushi Hasegawa 1:58
  12. 12 Outside (Soto) Hakushi Hasegawa 3:26

Track List

A1. 行っちゃった Departed
A2. 行つてしまつた Gone / 長谷川白紙 Hakushi Hasegawa & KID FRESINO
A3. 口の花火 Mouth Flash (Kuchinohanabi)
A4. 撤回 Repeal (Tekkai)
A5. 蕾に雷 The Blossom and the Thunder

B3. 禁物 Forbidden Thing (Kimmotsu)
B4. 魔法インター (v2) Mahōinter (v2)
B5. ボーイズ・テクスチャー Boy’s Texture
B6. 焱ばみ Enbami
B7. 外 Outside (Soto)

Hakushi Hasegawa


View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences