Item added to your cart.

Sleep Heavy
Blackest Ever Black
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 22, 2017

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Sleep Heavy is the debut album from Jabu, the sound system street soul selectors that are a central component within Bristols Young Echo collective.

Lifting its title from a poem by fellow Young Echo poet and FuckPunk don chester giles, Jabu's debut album blends a sugary sweet RNB like poetry with some steely-eyed instrumentals composed of robotic tears. Having previously appeared on Blackest Ever Black as part of the death-dub group Killing Sound, Jabu's Amos Childs places ten passages of melancholy heavy yet abstract electronic zones for the sentimental tones of vocalist/lyricists Alex Rendall and Jasmine Butt to pour out their emotive cries. Much like Kuedo's brilliant In Your Sleep or Winsome's Sugar Records releases, Jabu's Sleep Heavy is a softly composed pop record that once you let it get itself under your skin, tearing yourself away from it is no longer an option.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Let Me Know Jabu 4:36 Buy
  2. 2 Tomb Jabu 1:24 Buy
  3. 3 Get To You Jabu 5:23 Buy
  4. 4 Fool If Jabu 4:45 Buy
  5. 5 Bones Jabu 1:49 Buy
  6. 6 On Jabu 3:03 Buy
  7. 7 Searc Jabu 1:07 Buy
  8. 8 Wounds Jabu 3:45 Buy
  9. 9 Which Way Jabu 4:48 Buy
  10. 10 Lay You Down Jabu 2:47 Buy
  11. 11 Give Jabu 2:29 Buy


Blackest Ever Black

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Alternative and Indie

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences