Item added to your cart.

Succour (Redux)
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 14, 2021

Instant download of the following tracks with all pre-orders:

  • 'Meol'
  • 'Extract'
  • 'When Face Was Face'
  • 'Fracture'
  • 'Gatha'
  • 'Ruby-Ha'
  • 'Rupt'
  • 'Vex'
  • 'Cut'
  • 'Utreat'
  • 'Tempean'
  • 'As One'

Full release delivered on release date: 05.14.21

Just as paradigm-shifting ideas are met with some cautious scepticism when they first occur, the history of Seefeel’s second LP Succour is a little chequered. Coming in hot from the success of their 1993 debut Quique — regarded as a prophetic example of shoegaze’s eventual transformation into post-rock — a newly minted contract with Warp would prove symbolic of where the group would steer his project next. The few “rock” elements of its full-length predecessor had evaporated, and vast spaces of dub and ambient would come to inform 1995’s Succour. Skeletal rhythmic elements amalgamating into their brooding, elemental and completely singular sound.

Bookending tracks ‘Meol’ and ‘Tempean’ open up like two gaping mouths on a mottled, heavy beast of droning synthesis, laying the groundwork for the world-enveloping tones Stars of the Lid would later produce. The delicate balance of weights teeters throughout the LP, crushing up sheet metal percussion on the techno-minded ‘Fracture’ and ‘Rupt’, which both simultaneously recall Aphex Twin’s rhythmic experiments and large-scale dub textures. The latter style is heavily hinted in the third LP of mostly unreleased tracks in this expanded (Redux) edition, all delay-drenched and booming with bass.

Seefeel proselytised the limitless potential of the post-rock genre with Succour — and produced one of the 1990s’ greatest albums in the process.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Meol 5:54 Buy
  2. 2 Extract 7:31 Buy
  3. 3 When Face Was Face 6:05 Buy

    When Face Was Face

  4. 4 Fracture 5:54 Buy
  5. 5 Gatha 6:02 Buy
  6. 6 Ruby-Ha 6:10 Buy
  7. 7 Rupt 6:31 Buy
  8. 8 Vex 4:27 Buy
  9. 9 Cut 5:42 Buy
  10. 10 Utreat 5:07 Buy
Show All Tracks 23


View More



View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences