Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Modern Obscure Music
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 21, 2021


At a time in history where we are constantly warned about shortening attention spans and the onslaught of information -- videos, pictures, sounds -- being too much for the human nervous system to withstand long-term, Spanish label Modern Obscure Music asks the logical next question: can one create a substantial work of art that lasts only 30 seconds?

The imprint asks a host of genre-crossing multimedia experimentalists to produce a work according to this strict brief — and the cohort prove just how stimulating creative limitations can be. What’s staggering about PRSNT is the diversity of exciting ideas at work. We begin with a luscious synthesised curtain-raise from the legendary Laurie Spiegel, and a subsequent melding of an electronic-ancient ritual scale from label boss Pedro Vian and Pierre Bastien. Meanwhile, Lyra Pramuk, Chassol and Pascal Comelade emulate the warmth and urgency of vintage video game bleep-bloops on their compositions, imprinting in the brain some sly earworms of melody. Lafawndah generates a head-spinning wealth of club atmospherics into a tiny nook of time, while a closing statement from Ryuichi Sakamoto simply plays nothing more than a pure sound-void with his 30 seconds of silence.

A stimulating experiment that certainly pays off, PRSNT is an enthralling reaction to the modern plight of having too little time and too much to do.

Booklet includes writing from contemporary thinkers like Shumon Basar and François J. Bonnet, and images from Wolfgang Tillmans, Juergen Teller, Araki, Jack Davison, Alessandra Sanguinetti, Dani Pujalte, Elizaveta Porodina, Adrià Cañameras, Larissa Zaidan, Zhong Lin and Javier Tles among others

Design by Marc Monguilod

Lacquer cut by Josh Bonati & Mastered by Rashad Becker

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 FlyBy Laurie Spiegel 0:35 Buy
  2. 2 Memory Pedro Vian & Pierre Bastien 0:32 Buy
  3. 3 Cage Lya Pramuk 0:33 Buy
  4. 4 ya! Chassol 0:28 Buy
  5. 5 Page Turner Nicolas Godin & Pierre Rousseau 0:32 Buy
  6. 6 Segons com Pascal Comelade 0:32 Buy
  7. 7 Lifeworld Visible Cloaks 0:32 Buy
  8. 8 Vid2020 Raul Refree 0:37 Buy
  9. 9 cosa Lucrecia Dalt 0:32 Buy
  10. 10 Dead Cat Kelman Duran 0:34 Buy
  11. 11 THE SUPER LADY FROM NAMELESS-TOWN Lafawndah 0:32 Buy


  12. 12 silence Ryuichi Sakamoto 0:32 Buy

Track List

  1. Laurie Spiegel - Fly By
  2. Pedro Vian & Pierre Bastien - Memory
  3. Lyra Pramuk - Cage
  4. Chassol - ya!
  5. Nicolas Godin & Pierre Rousseau - Page Turner
  6. Pascal Comelade - Segons com
  7. Visible Cloaks - Lifeworld
  8. Raul Refree - Vid2020
  9. Lucrecia Dalt - cosa
  10. Kelman Duran - Dead cat
  11. Lafawndah - The Super Lady From Nameless-Town
  12. Ryuichi Sakamoto - silence

Modern Obscure Music

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences