Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Open Space Volume 1
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 16, 2020


Press Release

In a year of global shift and continuous changes, Figure takes a leap of faith and extends its catalog by introducing a completely new compilation series to the label. The Open Space series will feature forward- thinking Electronica and Ambient from a well-curated list of seasoned producers. Compositions that invite to let the mind wander, weaving stories, and conjuring up emotions. While these softer genres have already played a respected role in former Figure releases, for the first time in the label’s history they are now being given the center stage. Volume 1 sets the mark by providing producers whom we’ve come to love for their dancefloor-centric output with an open space to showcase another side of their skillset. Open Space remains open to various strains of Electronica and Ambient, ranging from the introspective synth-monologues (Sebastian Muellaert / Kirilik), drony dub-experimentalism (Moritz Von Oswald), alive and breathing takes on the genre (JakoJako), to singular compositions which slowly build their own lasting narrative and thus develop a genuine, emotive quality (John Beltran / Tin Man ). Len Faki himself proves the artistic breadth of Open Space, sharing a powerful and conscious message through a rare and delicate moment of him exploring the form of spoken words. Other contributions include Jesper Dahlbäck as The Persuader, Luke Slater as 7th Plain, or Ralf Hildenbeutel - a former production partner of Sven Väth and now a successful composer of film soundtracks. Unfairly reduced to background music, it is not the kind of Ambient featured on the Open Space series. It is an engaging body of music, bonded by its contemplative, enveloping nature. Open Space bands together an array of fascinatingly skilled producers, finally given the opportunity to present some of their most creative and emotional material yet to date.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 The Beginning Of Everything kirilik 3:52 Buy

    The Beginning Of Everything

  2. 2 The Morning Moves The Sun John Beltran 5:51 Buy

    The Morning Moves The Sun

  3. 3 In The Mist We Appeared Sebastian Mullaert 5:32 Buy

    In The Mist We Appeared

  4. 4 Deine Augen JakoJako 5:16 Buy
  5. 5 For Cocteaux and Budd The 7th Plain 4:07 Buy

    For Cocteaux and Budd

  6. 6 Find Your Way Len Faki 7:45 Buy
  7. 7 Remembering Water Pearls The Persuader 5:04 Buy

    Remembering Water Pearls

  8. 8 April Ralf Hildenbeutel 6:25 Buy
  9. 9 Silence Moritz Von Oswald 9:27 Buy
  10. 10 Treize kangding ray 5:23 Buy
  11. 11 Lovely Acid Tin Man 6:05 Buy
  12. 12 Indiana Police Antigone 4:15 Buy

    Indiana Police


View More

Dancefloor and Techno

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences