Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Ill Sugi
Warp Haze
Cold Busted
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 15, 2021


Press Release

Cold Busted reaches out to the Tokyo massive and welcomes Ill Sugi to the label’s global roster. A Tokyo DJ since 2006, Ill Sugi has released beats on URBNET, Radio Juicy, and Jazzy Sport and collaborated with the likes of Bugseed and San Francisco’s Dregs One. Now Ill Sugi presents Warp Haze, a heady 17 track album for Cold Busted that displays the many chill boom-bap moods of this talented producer. The opening track — “Call Me Nasty” — sets the tone with a spring reverb-drenched drum track, electric piano chords, and echoed vocals dropping in and out. “Night Boat,” another highlight, is more upfront but still retaining the dreamy, laid back hip hop feel that this producer excels at. Sharp rhythmic sounds serve as accents, an eccentric touch that shows Ill Sugi’s unique take on this sound. Ill Sugi also embarks on a few notable collaborations: “Pretty Shadows” features Budamonk (formerly of Delicious Vinyl act BudaStyles), Brrwd artsy Yagi guests on the whimsical “Old Man,” and the closing “After The Rain” includes a contribution from IWYMI INTNl alumnus Tajima Hal. Throughout, the beats and cuts are evocative and innovative, comprised of unexpected textures and rare-sourced samples. Warp Haze will leave you clamoring for more.

Track List

  1. Call Me Nasty
  2. Punk Smokers
  3. Night Boat
  4. Sylvia
  5. Libra
  6. Teenage Life Sounds
  7. Lover (Ex)
  8. Suburban
  9. ILL Sugi & Budamunk - Pretty Shadows
  10. Downtown Speaks
  11. I Gatta Feeling
  12. Angel Angera
  13. Twin Cedar
  14. ILL Sugi & Yagi - Old Man
  15. Hayama
  16. North Port
  17. ILL Sugi & Tajima Hal - After The Rain
  • Warp Haze

Cold Busted


View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences