Item added to your basket.

Gift This Product

WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl, CD purchases, delivered on release date: 13.12.19

Daniel Lopatin has worked on a Safdie Brothers film before - indeed, his music for 2017’s Good Time was widely heralded as one of that year’s best movie scores. As such, it makes sense that Lopatin (better-known as Oneohtrix Point Never) was brought on board by the pair once again to create the soundtrack to their new flick Uncut Gems. Now Warp have issued a standalone edition of the Uncut Gems OST.

Lopatin’s music for Uncut Gems invokes the same balance of electronic prettiness and harsh, abrasive noise that he did for Good Time. At their lushest, some of these tracks read like an updated version of the classic scoring work of Vangelis, Wendy Carlos and Angelo Badalamenti. There is an inviting dreaminess to much of Uncut Gems that comes off like a more maximalist rendering of Badalamenti’s Lynchian aesthetic - although a track such as ‘Back To Roslyn’, with its nocturnal keyboards and ethereal saxophone, is more naked with this influence.

When the noisy tracks come in here they enter with a sense of dread at their core. ‘The Fountain’, for instance, whistles and screeches in a manner that sounds like a harsh take on a Johnny Jewel composition. Elsewhere ‘School Play’ brings the noise more slyly, its breathless bleep-bloop motif tripping over itself to eventually create an unsettling soundscape.

Uncut Gems is another impressive sojourn into the world of film scoring from Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never).

Read More

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 The Ballad Of Howie Bling Daniel Lopatin 8:26
  2. 2 Pure Elation Daniel Lopatin 1:01
  3. 3 Followed Daniel Lopatin 1:32
  4. 4 The Bet Hits Daniel Lopatin 2:51
  5. 5 High Life Daniel Lopatin 1:00
  6. 6 No Vacation Daniel Lopatin 0:54
  7. 7 School Play Daniel Lopatin 6:16
  8. 8 Fuck You Howard Daniel Lopatin 2:42
  9. 9 Smoothie Daniel Lopatin 1:10
  10. 10 Back To Roslyn Daniel Lopatin 2:02
Show All 17 Tracks


Electronic and Electronica


--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.