View Your Wish List


Item added to your basket.

R&S Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 2019
View All Format Gift This Product …

Lakker’s new LP Época sees them taking their sound further than they’ve ever taken it before. The duo of Dara Smith and Ian McDonnell had already made the move into deconstructed club sounds and abrasive sonics on 2016’s Struggle & Emerge, but this set of tracks is by far the richest they’ve ever come up with. Many of the cuts here feature acoustic instruments engulfed in plumes of reverb and then wedded to broiling beds of rhythm. The overall effect of these numbers is reminiscent of Muslimgauze and Belief Defect. The feeling of dystopian unease fostered in Época’s first half does not waiver regardless of whether the duo incorporate the sounds of Nyege Nyege Tapes (‘A Juggling Of Numbers’) or go fully industrial (‘Discourage It All’).

Read More
  1. 1 Shoulder to the Bat 4:21 Lakker Buy
  2. 2 100 Bar 3:03 Lakker Buy
  3. 3 Nest 3:19 Lakker Buy
  4. 4 A Juggling of Numbers 5:08 Lakker Buy
  5. 5 Clavier 2:15 Lakker Buy
  6. 6 Dropped Shoulders 3:11 Lakker Buy
  7. 7 A Whisper in Your Ear 4:42 Lakker Buy
  8. 8 Body from the Water 2:04 Lakker Buy
  9. 9 Murmuration 5:21 Lakker Buy
  10. 10 Discourage It All 4:07 Lakker Buy


View More Lakker

R&S Records

View More R&S Records

Electronic and Electronica

View More Electronic and Electronica

Experimental House and Techno

View More Experimental House and Techno
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.