View Your Wish List


Item added to your basket.

Beats to Talk Crud To
Jon Phonics
Beats to Talk Crud To
Astral Black
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 2018
Show All Formats Gift This Product …

While it’s worth your money for the cover alone, the first Jon Phonics record to come out on Astral Black since 2013’s Rugers proves to be much more than a gimmick. Beats To Talk Crud To is a typically potent collection from a beatsmith who always manages to balance glitz and grime. The twelve entries here synthesise various strands of hip-hop beatwork - most prominently the G-Funk, post-Dilla and Dirty South styles - with great class and panache. Thick low-ends never get in the way of the samples, which are generally pretty things culled from old soul records. When Jay Z was at the peak of his powers he would have absolutely destroyed these beats.

Read More
  1. 1 Menace 2 Society 2:03 Jon Phonics Buy
  2. 2 Poetic Justice 2:03 Jon Phonics Buy
  3. 3 Paid in Full 1:46 Jon Phonics Buy
  4. 4 King of New York 1:57 Jon Phonics Buy
  5. 5 La Haine 0:48 Jon Phonics Buy
  6. 6 Belly 1:50 Jon Phonics Buy
  7. 7 Trainspotting 2:12 Jon Phonics Buy
  8. 8 Lock, Stock 1:44 Jon Phonics Buy
  9. 9 Bullet Boy 2:00 Jon Phonics Buy
  10. 10 Dead Presidents 1:25 Jon Phonics Buy
  11. 11 Juice 1:18 Jon Phonics Buy
  12. 12 Clockers 1:01 Jon Phonics Buy

Jon Phonics

Astral Black

View More Astral Black


View More Beats
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.