Item added to your basket.

Gift This Product

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / Vinyl / CD purchases.

The eponymous track that begins Franz Ferdinand’s fifth LP sets the scene perfectly. Opening with an ethereal flutter of piano and voices, ‘Always Ascending’ initially resembles the band’s 2014 single ‘Bullet’ on valium. However, about a minute in the drums get going, the synths kick into gear and Franz Ferdinand step into a new, sleek, dark disco mode. There’s a lot more New Order to this album than on previous FF records, and producer Philippe Zdar provides the same poppy electro sheen to Always Ascending that he brings to his day job as one half of Cassius. The likes of ‘Lazy Boy’ and ‘Lois Lane’ balance the whip-smart guitar playing of early Franz with cracking modular grooves to fine effect. And on the likes of ‘The Academy Award’ the band unleash the secret weapon they’ve always had in their arsenal - a way with a ballad.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Always Ascending Franz Ferdinand 5:21 Buy
  2. 2 Lazy Boy Franz Ferdinand 2:59 Buy
  3. 3 Paper Cages Franz Ferdinand 3:40 Buy
  4. 4 Finally Franz Ferdinand 3:09 Buy
  5. 5 The Academy Award Franz Ferdinand 4:14 Buy
  6. 6 Lois Lane Franz Ferdinand 3:34 Buy
  7. 7 Huck And Jim Franz Ferdinand 3:35 Buy
  8. 8 Glimpse Of Love Franz Ferdinand 3:12 Buy
  9. 9 Feel The Love Go Franz Ferdinand 4:46 Buy
  10. 10 Slow Don't Kill Me Slow Franz Ferdinand 5:18 Buy

Franz Ferdinand

Domino Recording Co

Alternative and Indie

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.