Item added to your cart.

Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 8, 2017

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


InFine (Carl Craig, The Wanderer) presents the sophomore album from Saint-Denis de la Reunion-based musician Labelle. Taking cues from Detroit techno, contemporary jazz and the Maloya music native to Reunion island, Labelle crafts a ghostly record of strange songs and challenging beat-tracks. Though many of the cuts on univers-ile feature guests, the results of the collaborations vary wildly. Whereas at one moment we get eerie, twisted torch-songs like the Nathalie Natiembe-featuring ‘Benoite’, the following track ‘Soul Introspection’ has Labelle and Prakash Sontakke layering sounds and textures to create a wash of noise akin to waves breaking on a shore. For Labelle’s solo efforts, we get two lopsided drum-tracks and two weightless works. An unusual and rewarding album.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Kou d'zel (feat. Zanmari Bare) 3:39 Buy

    Kou d'zel (feat. Zanmari Bare)

  2. 2 Benoite (feat. Nathalie Natiembe) 3:37 Buy

    Benoite (feat. Nathalie Natiembe)

  3. 3 Soul Introspection (feat. Prakash Sontakke) 5:59 Buy

    Soul Introspection (feat. Prakash Sontakke)

  4. 4 Souviens-toi (feat. Hasawa) 3:43 Buy

    Souviens-toi (feat. Hasawa)

  5. 5 Eveil 4:37 Buy
  6. 6 Om (feat. Maya Kamaty) 4:18 Buy

    Om (feat. Maya Kamaty)

  7. 7 Babette 4:13 Buy
  8. 8 Nous 3:45 Buy
  9. 9 Observateur (feat. Joao Ferreira) 3:37 Buy

    Observateur (feat. Joao Ferreira)

  10. 10 Playing at the End of the Universe 4:25 Buy

    Playing at the End of the Universe

  11. 11 Grand Maitre (feat. Ballake Sissoko) 4:21 Buy

    Grand Maitre (feat. Ballake Sissoko)



View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences