Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 17, 2012
  • Bundle:

    • Commodified Vinyl, 2×LP, Coloured Vinyl Clear vinyl

    • NRSB-11 Vinyl, EP, Coloured Vinyl Clear vinyl

    • Commodified Tote Bag Bag, Tote Bag

    Commodified LP
    Clear vinyl
    Bleep upfront exclusive
    Clear poly inner sleeves housed in clear screenprinted PVC outer sleeve

    NRSB-11 EP
    Clear vinyl
    Bleep exclusive
    Clear poly inner sleeve housed in clear PVC outer sleeve
    Limited to 500

    US stock will ship for 20th October 2023

    Available: October 9, 2023

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


NRSB-11 is the brainchild of Dataphysix (of Drexciya and Dopplereffekt) DJ Stingray 313 (Drexciya's touring DJ), Penelope Martin and Lana Jastrevski. Their sole and wholly singular album Commodified dropped in 2013 on Belgium label WéMè Records, enigmatically and to immediate attention. The ever current affairs of economics, capitalism, and consumer culture resonate deeply through sparing digitised voices, electrical discharges, and illustrious mechanical rhythms.

Commodified is a vibrant work of electro and techno experimentalism, brimming with cinematically minded melodic and harmonic progressions. A flurry of telephone operators, news anchors, and interviewees enters us into the album’s world, edited and backed by ominous drones. There’s an instantaneous feeling of being on edge as the information overload snaps into the steely, sparking stabs of ‘Consumer Programming’, where a robotic monotone succinctly describes the hypermodern age. This laconic simplicity extends to the album’s barcode artwork: a symbol of the very commercial identification each track bristles against.

The ensuing tracks are a daze of expansive sound design: the slow nodding shimmers of ‘Bioethics’ with beats mapping organic processes, the slinking gait and dizzying scintillations of ‘Dead Civilization’, and the molten acid basslines creeping throughout. Retro synth pulses fly through ‘Living Wage’, full of action and sharp, sociopolitical lyrics: “Mass exploitation, hail CEO”. ‘Market Forces’ meanwhile swerves into the realm of electronica via restrained sound palettes, tearing itself apart halfway through then recombining to a more metallic, dystopian effect.

A faultless classic in electronic music, NRSB-11 demonstrate their ominous vision of the near future on Commodified.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Intro 0:45 Buy
  2. 2 Consumer Programming 4:39 Buy

    Consumer Programming

  3. 3 Bioethics 3:36 Buy
  4. 4 Living Wage 3:54 Buy
  5. 5 Laundered 5:08 Buy
  6. 6 Market Forces 4:36 Buy
  7. 7 Offshore Banking 4:39 Buy

    Offshore Banking

  8. 8 Dead Civilization 4:18 Buy

    Dead Civilization

  9. 9 Globalization 5:02 Buy
  10. 10 Industrial Espionage 5:00 Buy

    Industrial Espionage

  11. 11 Austerity 5:12 Buy
  12. 12 Shadow Corp 4:36 Buy




View More

Electro and Acid

View More

Limited Editions

Album of the Week

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences