Item added to your cart.

Malcolm McLaren
Duck Rock
The state51 Conspiracy
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 26, 2023


It’s not entirely overblown to say that Malcolm McLaren helped usher in at least two movements that shook the earth to its core. His stewardship of the Sex Pistols is of course the stuff of legend, but McLaren’s gift to culture also lie in Duck Rock, the electro/hip-hop hybrid LP he issued under his own name some 40 years ago. Inspired by his trips around the world as a culture scientist of sorts, Duck Rock marries polyrhythms learned from Parisian Burundi drummers, early beat-matching from The Bronx and folk music from the Appalachians and Africa alike to form the unique sort of unexpected melting pot that should never work, but totally does.

An inspiration for artists of all stripes since its release, this special reissue from The state51 Conspiracy in conjunction with the McLaren estate adds plenty of previously unseen or heard material as well, as was Malcolm’s original intention.

  • Reworked artwork approved by Malcolm McLaren estate
  • MM and duck rock features heavily in global touring Saatchi gallery Street Art show
  • Designed by Daniel Mason
Show All Tracks 18

Track List


  1. Obatala
  2. Buffalo Gals
  3. Double Dutch
  4. El San Juanera
  5. Merengue
  6. Punk It Up
  7. Legba
  8. Jive My Baby
  9. Song For Chango
  10. Soweto
  11. World's Famous
  12. Duck For The Oyster


  1. Collaguas
  2. Roly Poly
  3. Hey DJ (World Famous Supreme Team)
  4. Zulus On A Timebomb
  5. Do You Like Scratchin
  6. Franz Buffalo

The state51 Conspiracy

View More


View More

Hip Hop

View More

Folk and Traditional Music

View More

Experimental Pop and New Wave

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences