Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Suzanne Ciani & Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith
FRKWYS Vol. 13 - Sunergy (Expanded)
RVNG Intl.
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 24, 2023

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl purchases.


Sunergy, as its title suggests, is bursting at the seams with bright-coloured rays of light and a certain buoyancy that reminds of the tidal drift on a perfect beach day. Ciani and Smith are both noted fans of the Buchla synth and both use it mightily here to paint vividly as they stretch out across the three lengthy tracks here, touching on everything from pure ambient music to dub techno to reverberated disco. The thirteenth entry in experimental label RVNG Intl.’s long-running FRKWYS series brings together two of America’s most strident synthesiser wizards in Suzanne Ciani and Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith for their first ever collaboration.

A true meeting of minds, the visionary oceanic ambience of Suzanne Ciani and Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith.

Dubbed the "Delia Derbyshire of the Atari generation" Suzanne Ciani is a true pioneer of electronic music. Having had the rare record detectives Finders Keepers shining a spotlight onto her discography and unearthing everything from early electronic incidental music to new age synth LP's and early Buchla concerts. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith is a fairly new face on the electronic scene, having scored one of our favourite LP's of 2016 with EARS, it's on Sunergy that the two artists find a cross-pollination where the analogue ambience that shadows each producers work comes to the forefront.

Comprised of three long-form pieces of glacial-like drones, their debut collaboration contains an almost sombre meditation to the vibrations that echo out of each note. The sounds drift from library like sketches to almost dub disco variants that fall somewhere between Ciani's live performances with Demdike Stare and Andy Votel and the underwater hallucinations of Zdeněk Liška.

Continuing the running theme of water that stems from Ciani's Seven Waves album, the label best sums it us as 'Sunergy instead seeks to awaken and bear witness, employing the Buchla waveforms to mirror the infinite rhythms of the ocean and our essential relationship to it.'

Digital Tracklist

LP Track List

A1. A New Day
B1. Closed Circuit
B2. Retrograde (Vinyl Edit)

RVNG Intl.

View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences