Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Angels Of Light
We Are Him
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 11, 2022
  • Vinyl 2×LP

    Read More


    • 2022 reissue
    • Download code

    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

    Stock on order, expected soon.

  • CD

    Read More


    • 2022 reissue

    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

    Stock on order, expected soon.


Press Release

Mute and Young God Records present the first instalment of the Angels Of Light reissues, starting with remastered editions of We Are Him and The Angels of Light Sing ‘Other People’.

Michael Gira formed Angels Of Light after the conclusion of Swans in 1997. We Are Him was initially released in 2007 and features Akron/Family (Dana Janssen, Miles Seaton Cooper, Seth Olinsky and Ryan Vanderhoof), along with Kristof Hahn, Phil Puleo and Bill Rieflin. The record is about getting by and trying to survive with a family and a faith at a time when “the dogs...howl as the street fills with blood.” - Micheal Gira/Young God Records

On the making of the album, Micheal Gira says “We Are Him began with my usual vows to keep things simple this time, finally, and I failed once again to live up to the task. I went into the studio with Akron/Family as backing band (as they had been on Other People). We recorded all the basic tracks in a week. They played drums, bass, guitar, piano, and backing vocals. Despite Akron's valorous efforts and fine performances, things sounded thin and tentative to me, so I started calling my friends to help me flesh things out.”

Available on vinyl and CD for the first time outside the US.

“On his sixth and arguably most engaging album as Angels of Light, former Swan Michael Gira seems more empowered and commanding than he has in a decade.” - Pitchfork

“If anything, We Are Him is his most focused and ambitious work to date.” - The Line of Best Fit

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Black River Song 3:15 Buy

    Black River Song

  2. 2 Promise Of Water 5:29 Buy

    Promise Of Water

  3. 3 The Man We Left Behind 5:48 Buy

    The Man We Left Behind

  4. 4 My Brother's Man 4:18 Buy

    My Brother's Man

  5. 5 Not Here/Not Now 5:41 Buy

    Not Here/Not Now

  6. 6 Joseph's Song 4:05 Buy

    Joseph's Song

  7. 7 We Are Him 4:11 Buy

    We Are Him

  8. 8 Sometimes I Dream I'm Hurting You 6:27 Buy

    Sometimes I Dream I'm Hurting You

  9. 9 Sunflower's Here To Stay 3:02 Buy

    Sunflower's Here To Stay

  10. 10 Good Bye Mary Lou 3:06 Buy

    Good Bye Mary Lou

Show All Tracks 17

Angels Of Light


View More

Folk and Traditional Music

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences