Item added to your cart.

Rival Consoles
Erased Tapes
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 3, 2021


An exploration of the current human experience as informed/moulded by data that is all encompassing and dividing: utilised and exploited as a political tool, further informed by a recent text Psychopolitics: Neoliberalism and New Technologies of Power by Byung-Chul Han - Ryan Lee West' s latest work as Rival Consoles forms a suite of powerful and exploratory original music composed for Overflow, the contemporary dance production choreographed by Alexander Whitley which premiered in May 2021 at the Sadler’s Wells in London.

West expands: “The piece opens with Monster which has a kind of drunken madness to it, highly repetitive to mirror the repetitive nature of how we as humans engage with technology such as social media. It’s sometimes edging towards chaos but yet always returning back to the same starting point, but eventually giving way to exhaustion. I wanted to create a bold opening piece for Overflow,” states West.

Echoing the interrogation of data mining as a concept, West also uses techniques to map the monologue data of dancer Tia Hockey, extracting from it chords for the track I Like. Also featured is a standalone work Pulses of Information, which was previously released yet the hyper kinetic nature of which chimes in perfectly with the whole of the Rival Consoles soundscape.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Monster 10:11 Buy
  2. 2 I Like 2:08 Buy
  3. 3 Hands 5:19 Buy
  4. 4 Pulses of Information 4:07 Buy

    Pulses of Information

  5. 5 Noise Call and Response I 4:21 Buy

    Noise Call and Response I

  6. 6 Overflow 5:36 Buy
  7. 7 The Cloud Oracle 3:28 Buy

    The Cloud Oracle

  8. 8 Tension in the Cloud 3:36 Buy

    Tension in the Cloud

  9. 9 Noise Call and Response II 8:37 Buy

    Noise Call and Response II

  10. 10 Scanning 4:27 Buy
  11. 11 Flow State 11:54 Buy
  12. 12 Touches Everything 5:04 Buy

    Touches Everything

  13. 13 Making Sense of It All 3:09 Buy

    Making Sense of It All

Track List

  1. Monster
  2. I Like
  3. Hands
  4. Pulses of Information
  5. Noise Call and Response I
  6. Overflow
  7. The Cloud Oracle
  8. Tension in the Cloud
  9. Noise Call and Response II
  10. Scanning
  11. Flow State
  12. Touches Everything
  13. Making Sense of It All

Rival Consoles

View More

Erased Tapes

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences