Item added to your cart.

Leslie Winer
When I Hit You — You'll Feel It
Light In The Attic
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 30, 2021


There’s a voice you hear at the back of your head. It talks about something and nothing; a hypnotic amalgamation of deep-seated prophecy and the inconsequential details of everyday conversation, possessing the vague horror of Burroughs and the urban sensibility of Annette Peacock morphed through the strident spoken word vocals. Her name is Leslie Winer, and she’s been many things over her 30-odd years in the business: model, poet, musician, artist, author. However she thinks of herself, she is — and always will be — the definitive iconoclast.

To our knowledge, there has never really been a proper retrospective — until now. When I Hit You — You’ll Feel It spans the breadth of her career, each track a snapshot of her genius, occasionally formed in collaboration with her admirers across a trove of wildly diverse styles. Besides her own personal artistic development from drum machines and piano key intimacy to noir-ish dub narratives and drum & bass reroutes, the compilation features an essential set of extracurriculars with pioneering giants like Jon Hassell, Jah Wobble and Helen Terry, contemporary artists such as Diamond Version and Jay Glass Dubs -- as well a smattering of unreleased gems. Winer’s instantly recognisable, magnetically deadpan vocal — smoky as a dark alleyway and caustic as an old boozer who can't pry themselves from the bar — offers a guiding rope throughout the anthology's run-time.

That’s the thing with Leslie Winer; once you’re hip to her, you won’t be able to stop digging. Give her an inch and she'll go for your throat.

“The definition of a hidden gem” – John Peel

“The world seems finally to be catching up to Leslie Winer, whose startling intelligence and singular vision shine through her copious recording life.” – Max Richter

“She might just be the coolest woman on the planet!” – Boy George

  • Newly remastered by the GRAMMY®-nominated engineer John Baldwin
  • Includes a new, extensive interview with Leslie and liner notes by acclaimed author, critic and compilation co-producer Wyndham Wallace, along with an essay by award-winning writer and scholar Louis Chude-Sokei
  • Original cover collage by the renowned British photographer and artist Linder, featuring the photography of Mondino
  • Design by designer Christopher Shannon

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 When I Was Walt Whitman Leslie Winer, John Gosling and Anni Hogan 4:31 Buy

    When I Was Walt Whitman

  2. 2 N1 Ear Leslie Winer 3:08 Buy
  3. 3 Tree Leslie Winer and Fachtna O? Ceallaigh 6:29 Buy
  4. 4 Personals Jon Hassell and Bluescreen, Leslie Winer and Jon Hassell 4:17 Buy
  5. 5 Dream 1 Leslie Winer and Karl Bonnie 3:27 Buy
  6. 6 Dunderhead Purity Supreme, Christophe Van Huffel and Leslie Winer 5:06 Buy
  7. 7 The Boy Who Used 2 Whistle Leslie Winer 4:30 Buy

    The Boy Who Used 2 Whistle

  8. 8 Hold on Postcards Leslie Winer, Aska Matsumiya and Georges Pe?rec 6:15 Buy

    Hold on Postcards

  9. 9 He Was Leslie Winer 4:14 Buy
  10. 10 Roundup Ready Leslie Winer, Charles Bernstein and Christophe Van Huffel 3:54 Buy
Show All Tracks 16

Light In The Attic

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences