Item added to your cart.

  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    Out of stock
    • + WAV / FLAC
    • Clear Vinyl
    • Each side plays continuously through
    • Colour reverse board outer
    • Printed inner sleeve with full liner notes
    • Includes download card for the digital edition of the album which is 15 separate tracks

Gift This Product

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl purchases.

There is exciting stuff in store for fans of His Name Is Alive - the Disciples imprint have announced a run of three albums consisting of the project’s unreleased early works. The first of these to emerge is All The Mirrors In The House, a set which focuses on the time when His Name Is Alive was the home taping project of Warren Defever.

All The Mirrors In The House takes in the period of 1979-1986, a timespan which means that some of the entries here were made when Defever was as young as 10. The tender age at which Defever created these pieces gives them an air of childlike curiosity. On this record we see a young person’s musical understanding developing in real time.

Defever’s youth also makes the quality of these tracks all the more remarkable. All The Mirrors In The House is not just a cute example of a kid playing around with recording equipment - these droning ambiences are dense, complex and frequently very beautiful. Artists like James Leyland Kirby and William Basinski would surely consider tracks as shimmeringly gorgeous as ‘Because Piano’ as gems in their arsenal and there is an ethereal quality to many of the numbers here that is not dissimilar to the ‘holy minimalism’ of Arvo Pärt.

With All The Mirrors In The House, Disciples haven given us an LP that both sheds light on His Name Is Alive’s later work and is also able to stand up next to anything else in Defever’s discography.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Piano Rev His Name Is Alive 2:03 Buy
  2. 2 Lliadin His Name Is Alive 2:55 Buy
  3. 3 Something About Hope His Name Is Alive 2:35 Buy
  4. 4 All The Mirrors In The House His Name Is Alive 1:27 Buy
  5. 5 Because Piano His Name Is Alive 2:23 Buy
  6. 6 Rememory His Name Is Alive 4:43 Buy
  7. 7 Tape Sound His Name Is Alive 0:36 Buy
  8. 8 Guitar Rev His Name Is Alive 2:01 Buy
  9. 9 Fine As Feathers His Name Is Alive 2:20 Buy
  10. 10 Reflection Pool His Name Is Alive 4:01 Buy
  11. 11 Equally Divided His Name Is Alive 1:59 Buy
  12. 12 Tape Slow His Name Is Alive 3:17 Buy
  13. 13 Outside The Window His Name Is Alive 0:33 Buy
  14. 14 Echo Lake His Name Is Alive 3:43 Buy
  15. 15 F Choir His Name Is Alive 2:06 Buy

His Name Is Alive

View More


View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Experimental and Noise

View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.