Item added to your basket.

  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    • + MP3
    • + Book
    • Limited Edition
    • Clear 180g heavyweight vinyl
    • Initial copies come with book of sheet music with lyrics from the album

    In stock, shipping now.

  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    • + MP3
    • + Book
    • Standard Edition
    • Black Vinyl
    • Initial copies come with book of sheet music with lyrics from the album

    In stock, shipping now.

  • CD

    • + MP3

    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

Gift This Product

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / Vinyl / CD purchases.

In a world beset by a cavalcade of horrors — AI systems run amok, the unceremonious shattering of human connection, the iron will of tyrannical autocrats, a biosphere on the precipice of environmental destruction — musicians are faced with a conundrum; to shy away from the dystopia, or stare it right in the face. For Jordan Rakei, to do anything but the latter would be tantamount to complicity. Since signing to Ninja Tune in 2017, releasing his label debut Wallflower that same year, Rakei’s has been honing his left-field neo soul craft. Drawing further emphasis to the ‘soul’ component with his third LP Origin, he recaptures the genre’s potential as messenger for the people, and not merely as a set of tunes that are easy on the ears.

That isn’t to say Origin isn’t catchy as all hell: ‘Rolling into One’ strikes an almighty, Chic-shaped disco pose; the irresistible future-funk of ‘Signs’ swaggers with a low-riding sway. Yet the introspective songwriting of previous releases is turned remarkably outward, zooming out from the personal to the political in a way similar to Marvin Gaye’s most daring work. This is a superhuman sense for melody, weaponised. The wickedly catchy refrain of ‘Mad World’ belies its central concern with surviving on a dying planet, while ‘Mind’s Eye’ considers bridging the gulf of experience torn apart by technological dependency.

With Origin, Rakei establishes a rarity in modern music; an album that deals critically in utopianism without being reduced to dogma, not once losing sight of the overarching sensuousness of soul music, even when it has so much more to declare.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Mad World Jordan Rakei 3:15 Buy
  2. 2 Say Something Jordan Rakei 2:40 Buy
  3. 3 Mind’s Eye Jordan Rakei 4:06 Buy
  4. 4 Rolling into One Jordan Rakei 4:19 Buy
  5. 5 Oasis Jordan Rakei 4:20 Buy
  6. 6 Wildfire Jordan Rakei 4:08 Buy
  7. 7 Signs Jordan Rakei 2:59 Buy
  8. 8 You & Me Jordan Rakei 4:14 Buy
  9. 9 Moda Jordan Rakei 2:56 Buy
  10. 10 Speak Jordan Rakei 4:47 Buy
  11. 11 Mantra Jordan Rakei 5:48 Buy

Jordan Rakei

Ninja Tune

Alternative and Indie


Soul, Funk and RnB

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.