View Your Wish List


Item added to your order.

The Winter Hymn
Pantha Du Prince
The Winter Hymn
Rough Trade
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 2016
Gift This Product …

German producer Hendrik Weber – Pantha du Prince – shares the first teaser of his upcoming album The Triad. The Winter Hymn EP features the eponymous album track, an extended version of ‘Dream Yourself Awake’ and the non-album track ‘Post Human Palisades’. While Weber's influential 2010 album ‘Black Noise’, also released on Rough Trade, saw him embrace a compositional process in solitude, his new approach revolves more around collaboration, with Scott Mou (Queens) and Bendik Kjeldsberg of the Bell Laboratory making appearances on the album. Yet, the sparkling mallet sounds of ‘The Winter Hymn’ evoke associations with his previous solo album, revealing his on-going appreciation of glacial aesthetics. They become overcast with Scott Mou’s delicately washed out vocals, the minimal beat accentuating the glistening arpeggios in the background. The other two tracks are exercises in long-form techno: whereas ‘Post Human Palisades’ dares a bolder bass and a small dose of dissonant notes, ‘Dream Yourself Awake’ develops from the fat synth subs-based propelling to densely layered, vocal infused electronica.

Read More
  1. 1 The Winter Hymn 4:35 Pantha Du Prince (feat. Queens) Buy
  2. 2 Post Human Palisades 10:39 Pantha Du Prince (feat. Kassian & Bendik)
  3. 3 Dream Yourself Awake (Long Version) 10:42 Pantha Du Prince

Pantha Du Prince

View More Pantha Du Prince

Rough Trade

View More Rough Trade

Electronic and Electronica

View More Electronic and Electronica
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.