Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Aesop Rock & Blockhead
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 12, 2021
  • Vinyl 2×LP, Limited Coloured


    Recycled random colour vinyl

    Read More


    • Gatefold jacket with matte UV & spot gloss finish
    • Garbage bag record sleeves
    • Digital download card.
  • CD

    Read More


    • Plastic garbage bag wrap with garbage scented scratch and sniff sticker
    • 6-panel digi-pak with spot gloss finish and CD.

    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

    Stock on order, expected soon.


Press Release

When Aesop Rock debuted in the late 90s with Music For Earthworms and Appleseed, Blockhead was also a part of the process, not only as a producer, but also helping coordinate sales of the CDRs to hungry Hip Hop fans. Blockhead and Aesop continued to collaborate, creating an impressive list of songs along the way, including two of Aesop’s most popular songs to date; “Daylight” and “None Shall Pass”. In recent years, Blockhead has contributed production, as well as remixes, to many of Aesop’s solo releases and group projects, and Aesop has made a handful of guest features on Blockhead’s solo projects, but in all that time, Aesop and Block have never done a full album together, until now!

Garbology came together over the course of the pandemic, as well as in the midst of Aesop processing the loss of a close friend in January of 2020, resulting in a period of time feeling uncreative. Looking back on that time that feels both like yesterday and forever-ago, Aesop recalls, “The world got real weird during those months. I knew at some point I had to get back to making something. Make a beat. Draw a picture. Write. Just go. But the idea of making a beat felt like math homework, and drawing is just so hard. Writing is hard too, but at some point I had to pick one.” With writing as the chosen path, Aesop hit up Blockhead to send over some beats. At the beginning there wasn’t a plan for an album, or any particular plan beyond creating some songs. However, it wasn’t long before one song became a few, and then a handful, until finally an album was born.

Garbology encapsulates the soundtrack of current times, capturing a snapshot of Aes and Block expressing a means of entertaining themselves in the midst of less social interactions than usual, “anchored on a goulash of cabin fever, fear, anger and boredom”, as Aesop describes it.

As for the album title, Aesop explains, “Garbology is defined as the study of the material discarded by a society to learn what it reveals about social or cultural patterns. I find a lot of parallels between that and the idea of picking up the pieces after a loss or period of intense unrest, and seeing what’s really there. It’s information that speaks to who I am, who we are, and how we move forward. Furthermore - the idea of digging through old, often neglected music from another time with an ear tuned for taking in that data in a different way than your average listener would is exactly what Tony does. Go through the information and see what you find.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 The Only Picture 0:45 Buy

    The Only Picture

  2. 2 Jazz Hands 3:25 Buy

    Jazz Hands

  3. 3 Wolf Piss 3:33 Buy

    Wolf Piss

  4. 4 Legerdemain 4:33 Buy


  5. 5 Difficult 4:05 Buy


  6. 6 All the Smartest People 2:06 Buy

    All the Smartest People

  7. 7 Oh Fudge 3:03 Buy

    Oh Fudge

  8. 8 More Cycles 4:08 Buy

    More Cycles

  9. 9 Flamingo Pink 3:55 Buy

    Flamingo Pink

  10. 10 All Day Breakfast (feat. Homeboy Sandman) 2:53 Buy

    All Day Breakfast (feat. Homeboy Sandman)

  11. 11 Fizz 4:38 Buy


  12. 12 That is Not a Wizard 4:31 Buy

    That is Not a Wizard

  13. 13 The Sea 4:09 Buy

    The Sea

  14. 14 Abandoned Malls 5:05 Buy

    Abandoned Malls

Track List

  1. The Only Picture
  2. Jazz Hands
  3. Wolf Piss
  4. Legerdemain
  5. Difficult
  6. All the Smartest People
  7. Oh Fudge
  8. More Cycles
  9. Flamingo Pink
  10. All Day Breakfast (feat. Homeboy Sandman)
  11. Fizz
  12. That is Not a Wizard
  13. The Sea
  14. Abandoned Malls

Aesop Rock & Blockhead


View More


View More

Hip Hop

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences