Item added to your cart.

Drunk Tank Pink
Dead Oceans
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 15, 2021


There are moments on Drunk Tank Pink where you almost have to reach for the sleeve to check this is the same band who made 2018’s Songs Of Praise. Such is the jump Shame have made from the riotous post-punk of their debut to the sprawling adventurism and twitching anxieties laid out here. The South Londoner’s blood and guts spirit, that wink and grin of devious charm, is still present, it’s just that it’s grown into something bigger, something deeper, more ambitious and unflinchingly honest. The genius of Drunk Tank Pink is how these lyrical themes dovetail with the music. Opener Alphabet dissects the premise of performance over a siren call of nervous, jerking guitars, its chorus thrown out like a beer bottle across a mosh pit. Songs spin off and lurch into unexpected directions throughout here, be it March Day’s escalating aural panic attack or the shapeshifting darkness of Snow Day. There’s a Berlin era Bowie beauty to the lovelorn Human For A Minute while closer Station Wagon weaves from a downbeat mooch into a souring, soul- lifting climax in which Steen elevates himself beyond the clouds and into the heavens. Or at least that’s what it sounds like. From the womb to the clouds (sort of), Shame are currently very much in the pink.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Alphabet 2:53 Buy
  2. 2 Nigel Hitter 3:24 Buy
  3. 3 Born in Luton 4:48 Buy
  4. 4 March Day 3:12 Buy
  5. 5 Water in the Well 3:07 Buy

    Water in the Well

  6. 6 Snow Day 5:20 Buy
  7. 7 Human, for a Minute 4:33 Buy

    Human, for a Minute

  8. 8 Great Dog 1:59 Buy
  9. 9 6/1 2:39 Buy
  10. 10 Harsh Degrees 3:09 Buy
  11. 11 Station Wagon 6:34 Buy

Track List


  1. Alphabet
  2. Nigel Hitter
  3. Born in Luton
  4. March Day
  5. Water in the Well
  6. Snow Day

SIDE B: 7. Human 8. Great Dog 9. 6/1 10. Harsh Degrees 11. Station Wagon


Dead Oceans

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences