Item added to your cart.

Avalon Emerson
!K7 Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 18, 2020

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Avalon Emerson’s DJ-Kicks mix begins with a few delightfully unusual beat tracks and Italo-Disco numbers. The tone is set with Emerson’s opening cover of The Magnetic Fields’ ‘Long Forgotten Fairytale’, a track where the original’s off-beat synth-pop stylings are accentuated by some idiosyncratic production on Emerson’s vocals reminiscent of Radiohead’s Kid A or Laurie Anderson’s ‘O Superman’. ‘Wastelands and Oases’, another Emerson production, and Tranceonic’s ‘Butterfly’ further elevate the mix’s Italo flavour.

From here, Emerson locks into a vein of tuff, trippy house/techno joints which are interspersed with futuristic neo-rave numbers in the Lorenzo Senni mould. The blend of old-school and new-school sonics is one which Emerson delivers with aplomb - see how low-end rollers like General Midi’s ‘The Future’ and DJ Sense’s ‘Finest’ (both 2001) contrast vividly with Oklou’s Sophie-esque ‘Just Level 5 Cos It’s Cute’. Italo influences return to the mix in the latter stages before Emerson throws the listener another curveball right at the death, closing things out with a stirring synthetic version of Austra’s ‘Anywayz’ which sounds like the yin to ‘Long Forgotten Fairytale’s yang.

Those who are wanting to hear these tunes in their full glory should look at the double-vinyl edition of Avalon Emerson’s DJ-Kicks. In contrast to the blends of the CD and digital editions, every track on the vinyl pressing comes as a full-length version - including three of Emerson’s original numbers and the ‘Anywayz’ cover.

Avalon Emerson’s DJ-Kicks is a brilliantly original exploration of house, techno, Italo and synth-pop sounds.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Long-Forgotten Fairytale Avalon Emerson 4:38 Buy

    Long-Forgotten Fairytale

  2. 2 Wastelands and Oases Avalon Emerson 4:19 Buy

    Wastelands and Oases

  3. 3 Butterfly Tranceonic 1:24 Buy
  4. 4 Breakers in Space (D.A.T. Remix) Waveform 5:59
  5. 5 Doe, Doe, Doe Anthony Acid 6:02 Buy
  6. 6 Dirty Pusherman (Original Filthy Mix) Little Mike 7:59 Buy

    Dirty Pusherman (Original Filthy Mix)

  7. 7 Finest DJ Sense 5:43 Buy
  8. 8 The Future General Midi 7:31
  9. 9 OAR004-A Oni Ayhun 7:11 Buy
  10. 10 Level 5 Oklou 2:36
Show All Tracks 20

Track List

*** = exclusive

CD Track List

  1. Avalon Emerson - Long Forgotten Fairytale ***
  2. Avalon Emerson - Wastelands and Oases ***
  3. Tranceonic - Butterfly
  4. Waveform - Breakers in Space (D.A.T. Remix)
  5. Avalon Emerson - Rotting Hills ***
  6. Anthony Acid - Doe, Doe, Doe
  7. Little Mike - Dirty Pusherman (Original Filthy Mix)
  8. DJ Sense - Finest
  9. General Midi - The Future
  10. Oni Ayhun - OAR004-A
  11. Oklou - Level 5
  12. Oceanic - Yellow Cone (Unison)
  13. Smith n Hack - Ultra-Range Sound Process
  14. Soundstream - 3rd Movement
  15. The Dirtbombs - Sharevari
  16. !!! - Hello? Is This Thing On? (Thomas N’ Eric’s Rub And Tug Throwdown)
  17. Avalon Emerson - Poodle Power ***
  18. Lady B - Cruising Around Motor City
  19. Regular Citizen - Sleeping Unique
  20. Austra - Anywayz (Avalon Emerson 14th Life Version) ***

2LP Track List
A2. Regular Citizen - Sleeping Unique
A3. Oceanic - Yellow Cone (Unison)
B1. DJ Sense - Finest
B2. Little Mike - Dirty Pusherman (Original Filthy Mix)
B3. Anthony Acid - Doe, Doe, Doe
C1. Lady B - Cruising Around Motor City
C2. !!! - Hello? Is This Thing On? (Thomas N’ Eric’s Rub And Tug Throwdown)
C3. The Dirtbombs - Sharevari
D1. Austra - Anywayz (Avalon Emerson 14th Life Version) ***
D2. Avalon Emerson - Wastelands and Oases ***
D3. Avalon Emerson - Poodle Power ***
D4. Avalon Emerson - Long Forgotten Fairytale ***

Avalon Emerson

View More

!K7 Records

View More

Dancefloor and Techno

View More


View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences