Item added to your cart.

Bongo Beats and Bankruptcy: The Sound of I'm a Cliche
Various Artists
Bongo Beats and Bankruptcy: The Sound of I'm a Cliche
I'm A Cliche
Catalogue Number
Cliche 067D
Release Date
March 2020
Gift This Product

Independent labels have always been risky ventures, marred by uncertainty; you never know how long they'll last for.

Yet, for more than 15 years, Cosmo Vitelli has kept I'm a Cliché going. During this time, his label, its releases, and the artists behind them have found their place in the musical landscape, standing proudly and defiantly in the margins, a place where music is always more interesting and fluid than right in the middle of the spotlight.

After countless EPs, several albums and a compilation, a new chapter in I’m a Cliché’s story begins, one with a greatly reduced release schedule. To mark this turning point, the label releases Bongo Beats & Bankruptcy, its second compilation ever. Aesthetically coherent and simultaneously diverse in its expressions, Bongo Beats & Bankruptcy is a celebration of the label (and the label manager’s) quirks and eccentricities and a tongue-in-cheek snapshot that brilliantly captures the label’s DNA, featuring friends and allies along with newer faces on 13 exclusive tracks scattered over 3 LPs.

Whether they are downtempo, uptempo or ambient like Orestt's contribution, each tune on this compilation distills in its own idiosyncratic way I’m a Cliché’s essence: electronic music influenced by club culture but in no way constrained to the dancefloor. Ivan Smagghe & Marc Collin’s analog synth track by their acclaimed Volga Select project, June’s dreamy tune at the crossroads between wave and kraut influences, Coy’s mutant synth arpeggios, and an old-school wave cut by Oliver Decrow mixed by Dunkeltier are all tracks boldly standing on the dancefloor's margins.

For those looking for club-ready tracks that with I’m a Cliché’s one-of-a-kind atmosphere will surely find what they are after in an downtempo edit of Awkward Corners, a bouncy and melodic IDM not IDM number by Rouge Mécanique, a bleeps & pan-pipes affair by Benoît B, an esoteric dance-rock number with stated Lynch influences by Fantastic Twins, a freaky electro cut by Linja, a melancholic 707 driven banger by Krikor and finally an anxious and forward-thinking half-stepper by label head Cosmo Vitelli.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Luddisme Orestt 3:33
  2. 2 In Slow Motion (Sunju Hargun Edit) Awkward Corners 5:59
  3. 3 Spione Volga Select 5:07
  4. 4 Perspective 4000 June 6:15
  5. 5 La Cantine du Vatican Coy 5:22
  6. 6 Skate & Distort Rouge Mécanique 6:04
  7. 7 Cosmic Music Style Benoit B 4:49
  8. 8 Read My Palmer, Laura Fantastic Twins 6:08
  9. 9 Opus Pistorum (Dunkeltier Mix) Oliver Decrow 4:21
  10. 10 The Horse Incident Cosmo Vitelli feat. Andrew Claristidge 6:57
  11. 11 Annpala Odopt 6:50
  12. 12 We As One In The S.D.T. Krikor 7:12
  13. 13 Xanadu Linja 5:52

I'm A Cliche

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.