0:00 0:00



  1. Your Basket
  2. Payment
  3. Review


Jamie Lidell
Jamie Lidell
Jamie Lidell
Cat. No.
Release Date
February 2013
Play (11 Tracks)


Visionary Warp producer and singer Jamie Lidell provided another essential collection on this self-titled full length, which followed on from 2010’s ‘Compass’. Over eleven tight and muscular cuts, Lidell further explores the highly charged soul-pop sound that he’s made his own, with mechanical and human elements working in perfect synergy.

‘You Naked’ bottles up a funky lust with real slickness, with a taut slap bass and ticking cowbells framing a full-bodied vocal to overpowering effect, while ‘You Know My Name’ opens with a huge rave breakdown which relaxes into a Prince-esque strut. There are more introverted slow burners too, with ‘Don’t You Love Me’ nailing a crooning soul ballad and adding unexpected bursts of dissonant brass and glockenspiel, and ‘why_ya_why’ constructing more of a sonic assault on top of a downtempo groove and sultry jazz trumpet.

Production prowess aside, it is still Lidell’s strident vocal delivery throughout which gives the work its substantial bite. On ‘What A Shame’ Lidell’s tone is sharp enough to cut through a fog of noise, glittering space-age synths and huge dubstep beats, while he channels Michael Jackson on ‘In Your Mind’ with a physical delivery backed by a vocoded choir of his own samples.

Read More


  1. 1 I'm Selfish 4:53 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  2. 2 Big Love 4:44 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  3. 3 What A Shame 4:37 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  4. 4 Do Yourself A Faver 4:07 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  5. 5 You Naked 4:48 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  6. 6 why_ya_why 3:34 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  7. 7 Blaming Something 4:40 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  8. 8 You Know My Name 4:18 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  9. 9 So Cold 3:56 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  10. 10 Don't You Love Me 4:16 Jamie Lidell Buy …
  11. 11 In Your Mind 4:23 Jamie Lidell Buy …

Jamie Lidell

View All


View All

Click anywhere to close.