Item added to your cart.

Thrill Jockey
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 19, 2022
  • Vinyl 2×LP, Limited Coloured


    Translucent orange vinyl

    Read More


    • 2022 remastered repress
    • Download of 3 never-before-released bonus songs, including a remix by James Plotkin
    • Download of early live recordings

    Stock on order, expected soon.

Press Release

Newly remastered vinyl comes with a bonus remix by James Plotkin and bonus track downloads available only with vinyl purchase. Watch our unboxing video here.

Pelican’s debut album Australasia, originally released in late 2003 by Hydra Head Records, is a landmark record in the shifting tides of heavy music that took place at the turn of the millennium. 20 years since its release and with several sold-out represses, Australasia is a proven essential for any listener exploring the bounds of rock music. Now issued as a deluxe double LP edition newly remastered for vinyl and complete with 3 never-before-released bonus songs, including a remix by James Plotkin and digital downloads of early Pelican live recordings. Artwork by ISIS/SUMAC/Hydra Head founder Aaron Turner.

Following the release of the band’s auspicious self-titled EP, Australasia’s singular integration of melodic complexity and tremendous density redefined conceptions of what constituted “heavy.” Pelican’s unique manipulation of atmosphere and dynamics seamlessly alchemized their disparate influences beyond metal into music grand, mercurial, and utterly sublime, worthy of the album’s namesake.

Billowing clouds of strange serenity give way to tectonic riffs. Hypnotic rhythms chug at the precipice between doom and euphoria. Guitarists Trevor Shelley de Brauw and Laurent Schroeder-Lebec twirl soaring harmonies around the roaring thunder of bassist Bryan Herweg and drummer Larry Herweg. Throughout the album, the quartet move as one like a glacier, awesome and forever imbuing the landscape with their mark. Australasia stands as a pioneering work, unmatched in the level of unbridled beauty and devastation Pelican wields across the album.

Track List

  1. NightEndDay (2022 Remaster) 11:17
  2. Drought (2022 Remaster) 08:21
  3. Angel Tears (2022 Remaster) 11:00
  4. GW (2022 Remaster) 03:35
  5. Untitled (2022 Remaster) 05:23
  6. Australasia (2022 Remaster) 10:50


Thrill Jockey

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences