Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
No Photos On The Dance Floor! Berlin Techno 1992 - Today
Above Board Projects
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 4, 2021

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.


No Photos On The Dance Floor! A two-part compilation celebrating close to thirty years in the legendary history of Berlin techno. The title refers to a well-known rule forbidding photography of any kind once past the doors, which is in place across much of the Berlin club landscape. Curated by Heiko Hoffmann (Groove Magazine), the concept began as a photography and video art exhibition by the same name which was co-curated by Hoffmann and shown at C/O Berlin in late 2019, which was also followed by a retrospective book in 2020.

No Photos On The Dance Floor charts the journey from the fall of the wall in 1992 right through to the present day, mapping the various styles which emerged within whilst acknowledging the external influences from the UK and the midwestern US which contributed along the way. Part One covers 1992-2006, with contributions from a host of heavyweight including Juan Atkins, Maurizio, Sleeparchive, Monolake and Alec Empire. It features a lot of the early crossover sounds of the scene’s raw formative years - acid house, electro and filtered disco all cross pollinate with the unmistakable Berlin techno sound across nine heavyweight club tracks.

Part Two focuses on 2007 to the present day, which contains the likes of Richie Hawtin’s alias Plastikman, Ben Klock, Avalon Emerson and Modeselektor amongst many more. Reflecting the means of music production becoming more accessible within this time, it features a more polished, expansive and monolithic form of techno. Big room techno behemoths sit alongside synth led ambient tracks, ranging from unrelenting Berghain-esque bangers to stripped melodic takes.

Given the track list alone, this will make for an essential record for fans of techno or its many variants.

Compiled and programmed by Heiko Hoffmann
Mastered by Rashad Becker @

Digital Track List

  1. 1 The 4th Quarter 3MB feat. Magic Juan Atkins 5:09
  2. 2 Robocop 9-10-Boy 5:55
  3. 3 SuEcide Alec Empire 6:33
  4. 4 Phuture Futurhythm 3:55
  5. 5 Lyot (Maurizio Mix) Vainqueur 7:09
  6. 6 Donna MMM 5:55
  7. 7 Black Acid (Pt. 1) Kotai + Mo 6:07
  8. 8 Elephant Island Sleeparchive 6:34
  9. 9 Alaska (Substance Remix II) Monolake 6:20
  10. 10 Baby Kate (Plastikman Remix) Heartthrob 8:01
Show All Tracks 19

Above Board Projects

View More

Dancefloor and Techno

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences