Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Various Artists
Happy Land
Above Board Projects
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 14, 2023

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl purchases.


Above Board Projects put together a trip through the alternative and diverse electronic styles cropping up all over the British Isles from 1992 to 1996, a time of economic and political strife where dance and electronic music not only persevered, but journeyed into the outer reaches of what was possible.

The foundational Sheffield unit Cabaret Voltaire open this collection with the mysterious and nocturnal ‘Soul Vine’, true to its album’s title Plasticity as a techno beat constantly morphs over the moody bassline, meanwhile Ultramarine’s ‘Happy Land’ serves as a theme song, picturesque and smooth against Richard Wyatt’s satirical and sarcastic lyrics. From the classic Bytes album, ‘Carceres Ex Novum’ is maximalist sonic architecture with intricate layers of walloping clockwork beats and adventurous melodies, and Matthew Herbert’s ‘Housewife’ is a slab of funky, forward thinking house that could have easily been made 30 minutes ago, let alone 30 years.

Aphex Twin under his Strider. B. name initiates Volume 2 with buffeting punches wrestling against breezier synth melodies in a techno workout of epic proportions, while Radioactive Lamb follow up on a conveyor belt of heavy beat ballistics leading into blissful, airy pads. Richard H. Kirk returns as Sandoz on ‘Armed Response’, with military snares and drums cut by machetes and a deep dub bass tying it together, echoed in Zone Smut’s ‘Sub Dub Rub’ where a remix plunges the track into low frequency murky waters.

Bringing some sought after rarities back into print, Happy Land revisits a particularly explorative era in UK dance music.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Soul Vine 7:49 Buy
  2. 2 Happy Land 6:44 Buy
  3. 3 True Romance 11:32 Buy
  4. 4 Carceres Ex Novum 6:42 Buy

    Carceres Ex Novum

  5. 5 Housewife 6:28 Buy
  6. 6 Big Decision 4:37 Buy
  7. 7 Meditation 6:06 Buy
  8. 8 Linmiri ≠ Bradley Stryder 5:56 Buy

    Linmiri ≠ Bradley Stryder

  9. 9 Bellevedere 7:41 Buy
  10. 10 Pull Thy Boots 6:53 Buy

    Pull Thy Boots

  11. 11 Dreamland 6:35 Buy
  12. 12 Armed Response 7:38 Buy

    Armed Response

  13. 13 Cost II 6:32 Buy
  14. 14 Space Disco (Dub edit) 4:47 Buy

    Space Disco (Dub edit)

  15. 15 Down On All 4's 5:49 Buy

    Down On All 4's

Track List

Volume 1 2×LP Tracklist:

  1. A1. Cabaret Voltaire - Soul Vine (70 Billion People)
  2. A2. Ultramarine - Happy Land (ft. Robert Wyatt)
  3. B. Thunderhead The Word By Eden - True Romance
  4. C1. Xeper - Carceres Ex Novum
  5. C2. Herbert - Housewife
  6. D1. Liquid Son - Big Decision
  7. D2. Syzgzy - Meditation

Volume 2 2×LP Tracklist:

  1. A1. Strider. B. - Linmiri ≠ Bradley Stryder
  2. A2. Radioactive Lamb - Bellevedere
  3. B1. Max - Pull Thy Boots
  4. B2. Fretless Azm - Dreamland
  5. C1. Sandoz - Armed Response
  6. C2. The Black Dog - Cost II
  7. D1. Zone Smut - Sub Dub Rub (Holyfield Vs. Tyson Remix Totally Killed By Sub Dub)
  8. D2. Slow Rotor - Space Disco (Dub Edit)

Above Board Projects

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More


View More

Vinyl Reissue

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences