Item added to your cart.

Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 12, 2021

RAAR is thrilled to present the latest full length LP from label co-founder, Maelstrom. Named ‘Rhizome’, after the research theory which allows for multiple, non-hierarchical entry and exit points in data representation and interpretation, this album provides a framework for a sinewy, futuristic, beautiful and strange sonic landscape that at once shows off Maelstrom’s powerful sound-design chops and musical sensibilities. With a cryptic history incorporating nearly two decades of aliases and side projects born out of free parties in warehouses, fields and basements, it is under this moniker that the artist has truly come into his own. His skill and vision spanning from 135 bpm wave powerful to a pensive and subtle ambient track, Maelstrom's sonic universe is both precise and limitless, described better by feeling ('approaching storm over river/horse with the bit in its teeth/sliver of moon') than genre. Maelstrom cofounded the label RAAR in 2015 with frequent collaborator Louisahhh where he released his debut album «Her Empty Eyes» in 2017. Throughout the next 2 years, he has delivered exciting collaborations with cutting edge electro imprints such as CPU and Cultivated Electronics in the UK, Private Persons in Moscow, or Mechatronica in Berlin, while playing an all electro live set in clubs and raves, from Paris to London or Tokyo. 2021 will see the release of his second album, Rhizome, with a focus on the concepts of interdependence and creative ecosystems.

Track List

A1 Signal to Noise
A2 Dual-Phase
A3 Looking at the Protocol
A4 Tsuga
A5 Collective Partitioning
B1 Maalish
B2 Katydids
B3 Dorsal Light Reaction
B4 Latent Learning
B5 Recipient Memory


View More


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences