Item added to your cart.

Nicolas Bougaïeff
The Upward Spiral
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 24, 2020


Techno innovator Nicolas Bougaïeff delivers his long-awaited debut LP via Novamute. The Upward Spiral delivers on the promise of EPs like Cognitive Resonance by using booming warehouse techno production as a trojan horse with which to disguise some dense ideas about music, philosophy and techno’s place in oppositional culture. There is something intense about how Bougaïeff deploys synths here, making them work both with and against the beat in order to create tracks that are both immediately danceable and also rather hypnotic. While Ostgut Ton and the Birmingham school are clear influences on The Upward Spiral, tracks such as ‘Inexadorable’ also demonstrate an affinity for industrial, noise and EBM.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Embrace Hope All Ye Who Enter Here 5:26 Buy

    Embrace Hope All Ye Who Enter Here

  2. 2 Thalassophobia 6:27 Buy


  3. 3 The Upward Spiral 6:01 Buy

    The Upward Spiral

  4. 4 Inexadorable 7:17 Buy
  5. 5 Nexus 3:18 Buy
  6. 6 Flying High 7:44 Buy
  7. 7 Positive Altitude 5:22 Buy

    Positive Altitude

  8. 8 Inward Megalith 5:42 Buy

    Inward Megalith

  9. 9 Listen Carefully To The Heart Beat 5:05 Buy

    Listen Carefully To The Heart Beat

  • The Upward Spiral

Nicolas Bougaïeff


Dancefloor and Techno

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences