Item added to your cart.

Monster X
Black Opal
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 6, 2019


It won’t surprise you to find out that Julien Caraz, the brains behind Monster X, is a sound designer by day. Ultra, the project’s latest release, is full of intricately-sculpted sounds, careful modular craft and whirligig beat programming. Cuts like ‘No Device’, for instance, feature drums so dynamic that they’d make Venetian Snares blush. Xyn Cabal’s recent Perfect Oracle EP for The Death Of Rave EP also comes to mind. Elsewhere ‘Summer Rec’ is a lopsided keyboard ambience that has a bit of a haunted house air to its ghoulish organ tones. Please be aware that, while Ultra’s digital release runs to eight tracks, only four appear on the vinyl.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Summer Rec 3:25 Buy
  2. 2 No Device 4:16 Buy
  3. 3 Grab 4:30 Buy
  4. 4 1 Sound 4:12 Buy
  5. 5 Calamar 5:05 Buy
  6. 6 Happy New Slave 5:00 Buy

    Happy New Slave

  7. 7 Rejekt 5:44 Buy
  8. 8 Ultra 6:06 Buy

Monster X

Black Opal

View More

Experimental and Noise

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences