Item added to your cart.

Dimension Intrusion
Warp Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 10, 2023
  • Vinyl 2×LP, Coloured Vinyl


    Transparent green vinyl

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • UK stock sold out and will not be restocked, remaining copies shipping from US warehouse
    • Bleep exclusive
    • Polylined inner sleeves
    • Wide spine outer sleeve
    • 12x12" poster insert
    • Limited to 500
  • Vinyl 2×LP


    Black vinyl

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Polylined inner sleeves
    • Wide spine outer sleeve
    • 12x12" poster insert

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl / Vinyl purchases.

Richie Hawtin is a vanguard of electronic music, with a career spanning three decades and countless releases. One of his best realised works sits at the very beginning in 1993: his debut album Dimension Intrusion under his F.U.S.E. alias was originally released on his label Plus 8 Records, then swiftly picked up by Warp as the fifth album in their Artificial Intelligence series following his inclusion as UP! on the landmark 1992 compilation.

Dimension Intrusion’s roaring acid techno rhythms, tapped into AI’s philosophy of club flavoured electronic music for deep listening, and chartered much wider grounds and deeper emotional territory than his equally important Plastikman output.

Raised on the dancefloors of Detroit, Hawtin invoked science fiction films and themes in his music like many of his techno contemporaries, evident in the liquid sounds of the Roland TB-303 undergoing timbral mutations while nocturnal four to the floors cause planet-wide vibrations. However, Dimension Intrusion has a knack for evoking the earthly as well as the extraterrestrial. ‘Theychx’ is a tropical collage of seaside slowburn, where bass booms plunge deep into the lapping waves and emerge with mesmerising hand drum loops; probably the most placid acid ever put to tape.

Dimension Intrusion mixes together the technological and the tranquil. Textures range from the tough acidic throbs of ‘Substance Abuse’ to the stormy flurry of synth stabs and splashes on the pummelling ‘F.U.’, and the emotionally entrenched, cerebral techno on the title cut ‘Dimension Intrusion’. From there, we hurtle towards the industrial revolution on ‘Train-Trac.1’: acidic klaxons growl and hard slams gain speed, with intense forward momentum feeding the fires of the techno engine.

Richie Hawtin’s debut as F.U.S.E. is a truly seminal work, having aged exceptionally well in both canons of club and home listening.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 A New Day 3:53 Buy
  2. 2 F.U. 7:44 Buy
  3. 3 Slac 3:20 Buy
  4. 4 Dimension Intrusion 4:03 Buy

    Dimension Intrusion

  5. 5 Substance Abuse 5:07 Buy
  6. 6 Train-Trac. 1 6:42 Buy
  7. 7 Another Time (Revisited) 6:23 Buy

    Another Time (Revisited)

  8. 8 Theychx 13:28 Buy
  9. 9 Uva 8:08 Buy
  10. 10 Mantrax 8:05 Buy
  11. 11 Nitedrive 3:29 Buy
  12. 12 Into The Space 5:11 Buy
  13. 13 Logikal Nonsense 1:11 Buy

    Logikal Nonsense


Warp Records

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences