Item added to your cart.

Martin Dupont
The Complete Collection 1980-1988
Minimal Wave
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 1, 2022
  • Vinyl Boxset 5×LP

    Read More


    • 2022 repress
    • 5 x 180g vinyl
    • Individual heavy LP sleeves
    • 12pp full-size booklet
    • Linen bound hard box with foil pressed design + poster

    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

    Stock on order, expected soon.

Press Release

Minimal Wave presents The Complete Collection 1980-1988, a five LP box set by the highly lauded French group Martin Dupont. The band formed in Marseille in 1980 and consisted of Alain Seghir, Brigitte Balian, Beverley Jane Crew, and Catherine Loy. They were immensely talented with a rare dynamic between them that was likely inspired by a combination of their magnetic personalities, creative vision and and the home studio where they recorded. The music they made was colorful, enthusiastic and delicate, but also melancholy and mysterious. A mixture of hot and cold, light and dark. They made electronic music that incorporated guitars and clarinets and are described by many as a New Wave band yet they truly transcended genres. They had some mainstream success finding themselves opening for bands like The Lotus Eaters, The Lounge Lizards and Siouxsie and the Banshees, without any intention of ever being a commercial enterprise. In Beverley Jane Crew’s words, “the songs just tumbled out in a completely organic and spontaneous way and as soon as they were recorded on the four track, they were shared with friends on tapes, openly and excitedly.”

They released three studio albums: Just Because, Sleep Is A Luxury and Hot Paradox, one cassette entitled Inédits 1981-1983 and one 7” single entitled Your Passion. In 2008, Minimal Wave released a compilation of selected tracks entitled Lost And Late. Now one decade later, MW releases its first box set for this phenomenal band.

The Complete Collection 1980-1988 consists of all of Martin Dupont’s recorded material to date in the form of five 180 gram vinyl LPs and spans 60 songs recorded between 1980 and 1988. Along with the five LPs, the box contains a 12 page LP-sized full color booklet featuring previously unpublished photographs of the band, their history, and select song lyrics. The box itself is bound in platinum grey linen, with black foil type and both booklet and box are designed by NYC based artist Peter Miles. All five LPs are pressed on black 180 gram vinyl and feature the original artwork of the French artist Yves Cheynet.

Track List

Track list:

Just Because
Sticks In My Brain
Under Nylon
Take a Look
Soft Images
Brittle Hero
Dirty Hands
Willy Nilly
Lovely Monster
Welcome To The Dissidents
Pure Delight
Bent At The Window
You Are My Jail
It’s So
I Met The Beast
Hidden Inside
Andrei Roublev
Doron Doron
Not Waiting
Broken Memory
The Light Goes Through My Mouth
Love On My Side
Just Because (Remix 1985)
No Hands
Never Never
I Love The Lovers
Other Souvenirs
Not Such A Joke
Without Face
Mein Liebe
Shake Your Flowers
Makes Me Blind
It’s No Use
Full Moons And Mouths
Hot Paradox
My Analyst Assez
Berlin Wall
He Saw The Light
Inside Out
I Never Tried
Where To Find It
Like A Lion
No Crying
He Calls The Sky Hector
Bit Of Smile
Lonely In His Farm
Your Passion
Top Of The Pyramids
Lost And Late
War Game
Accident Of Stars
*Spazieren In Der Nacht *(bonus on digital)

Martin Dupont

Minimal Wave

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences