Item added to your cart.

Nightports and Tom Herbert
Nightports w/ Tom Herbert
The Leaf Label
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 6, 2022
  • Vinyl 1×LP

    Read More


    • Limited edition
    • Packaged in an intricate die-cut sleeve

    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

    Stock on order, expected soon.

  • CD

    Read More


    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

    Stock on order, expected soon.

Press Release

Nightports is based on a simple but unbreakable rule of restriction: only sounds produced by the featured musician can be used. Nothing else. These sounds can be transformed, distorted, translated, processed and reprocessed, stretched, cut, ordered and reordered without limitation. Nightports w/ Tom Herbert is the third in a series of albums from musician-producers Adam Martin andMark Slater to be released on The Leaf Label, following 2018’s Nightports w/ Matthew Bourne and 2020’s Nightports w/ Betamax. Tom Herbert made his name as the bass player in Mercury Music Prize-nominated bands Polar Bear and The Invisible, and has become an in-demand collaborator and session musician, including work with Adele, Lana Del Ray and most recently The Smile. Having honed his craft holding the low-end down in some of the most forward-thinking British groups of recent times, and also appearing on some the biggest tracks of the last twenty years, Nightports w/ Tom Herbert brings Herbert’s command of the double bass into the spotlight. As with all of Nightports’ work, the album rewards close listening. They stay true to their manifesto in maintaining the essence of the original recordings. The processing never masks the organic source material,at times demonstrating the physicality of the instrument with detailed recordings of complete takes - the sound of the room, the creaking of strings and Herbert’s measured breathing. At other times they build more abstract, atmospheric layers from the parts.

Digital Tracklist

Track List

  1. A1. Hibernal
  2. A2. Eye to Eye
  3. A3. Defeat
  4. A4. October
  5. A5. Inhabit
  6. B1. Arcs
  7. B2. Lumin
  8. B3. Hydrodynamica
  9. B4. Vacancy
  10. B5. Given

The Leaf Label

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences