Item added to your cart.

The Wind Is Strong...
Dais Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 30, 2021

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl purchases.


Press Release

Cindytalk is the mercurial, expressionist outlet of Scottish artist Cinder. An evolution of her early 1980's Edinburgh-based punk band The Freeze, she launched the project upon moving to London, inspired by the crossroads of exploratory UK post-punk and early European industrial. Her work thrives on chance and transformation, collaging elements of noise, balladry, soundtrack, catharsis, and improvisation. After a series of celebrated albums for the Midnight Music label as well as collaborations with This Mortal Coil and Cocteau Twins, Cinder migrated to the United States, becoming involved with various underground techno collectives around the Midwest and West Coast. Subsequent relocations to Hong Kong and Japan further expanded Cindytalk's horizons, resulting in a fruitful partnership with Viennese experimental institution Editions Mego, for whom she released five full-lengths of swooning, granular atmosphere. 2021 finds her as engaged as ever, at the precipice of long-awaited back catalog reissues alongside multiple new works, guided by her lasting love of discovery and deviation: “new pathways always being uncovered.”

The 3rd album by Scottish industrial enigma Cinder aka Cindytalk began life as the soundtrack to an experimental film by English director Ivan Unnwin entitled Eclipse (The Amateur Enthusiast's Guide To Virus Deployment), and was originally slated for release via Factory Records' video division, Ikon. Inspired heavily by Alan Splet's eerily disembodied sound design in David Lynch's Eraserhead, the collection's 15 pieces seethe between field recordings, wistful piano vignettes, and lurking metallic haze – a hybrid palette Cinder characterized at the time as “ambi-dustrial.” Unfortunately Ikon collapsed on the eve of the project's completion so the film was never distributed, but the Midnight Music imprint repackaged Cindytalk's score as an LP in 1990 under the name The Wind Is Strong... (full title: The Wind Is Strong - A Sparrow Dances, Piercing Holes in Our Sky).

Long out of print, the album remains one of the most elusive and adventurous in the Cindytalk discography, a mix of musique concréte, haunted reverie, and desolate beauty. Even unaccompanied by their intended visuals, this is overtly cinematic music, conjuring forests at dusk and shadowed corridors, equal parts remote and reflective. Cinder cites a belief that “all sound is music,” which fully manifests here, utilizing tape hiss, ticking clocks, flicking flames, and distant whispers as evocative accents in tapestries of luminous negative space.

Although Cinder included the subtitle “A Cindytalk diversion” in the sleeve notes, The Wind Is Strong... is crucial to the project's canon, demonstrating the depth and versatility of her unique ear and intuition. She describes each album as a direct response to the previous one, and in that sense The Wind marks a bold break from the coiled song-oriented post-punk of 1988's In This World, venturing into unknown, unnamed terrain, and finding foreboding new futures to call her own.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Landing 3:25 Buy
  2. 2 Firstsight 1:44 Buy
  3. 3 To The Room 1:22 Buy
  4. 4 Waiting 3:19 Buy
  5. 5 Through Flowers 1:08 Buy

    Through Flowers

  6. 6 Secondsight 0:30 Buy
  7. 7 Through The Forest 1:37 Buy

    Through The Forest

  8. 8 Arrival 5:03 Buy
  9. 9 Is There A Room For Hire 1:30 Buy

    Is There A Room For Hire

  10. 10 Choked I 6:55 Buy
  11. 11 Choked II 4:35 Buy
  12. 12 Dream Ritual 6:01 Buy
  13. 13 Morning Bell 3:40 Buy
  14. 14 On Snowmoor 6:58 Buy
  15. 15 Angel Wings 2:08 Buy

Track List

A1 Landing
A2 Firstsight
A3 To The Room
A4 Waiting
A5 Through Flowers
A6 Secondsight
A7 Through The Forest
A8 Arrival
A9 Is There A Room For Hire
A10 Choked I
B1 Choked II
B2 Dream Ritual
B3 Morning Bell
B4 On Snowmoor
B5 Angel Wings


Dais Records

View More

Experimental and Noise

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences