Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Soul Jazz Records Presents: Rocksteady Got Soul
Soul Jazz Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 5, 2021


Press Release

Soul Jazz Records’ new Studio One release ‘Rocksteady Got Soul’ is a collection of uplifting and superb rocksteady and soulful reggae from the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Studio One is the number one label in the history of reggae and the album features - as ever with Studio One - an impeccable and unbeatable line-up of reggae superstars, all soaring at the height of their creative powers. Alton Ellis, John Holt, The Heptones, Jackie Mittoo, The Ethiopians, Lee Perry and more.

The album is a mix of classic tunes and rhythms alongside rarities that were released in a dazzlingly complex web of Studio One labels and issues, deftly navigated with new sleeve notes from author and Studio One authority Rob Chapman, plus exclusive photography.

Track List

  1. Alton Ellis – It's True
  2. The Heptones – You Turned Away
  3. The Gladiators – Mr Sweet
  4. The Jail Breakers – Work It Up
  5. Lee Perry & The Gaylads – Run Rudie Run
  6. The Heptones – Young Generation
  7. Jackie Mittoo – Good Feeling
  8. C. Marshall – I Need Your Loving
  9. Alton Ellis – I'll Be Waiting
  10. The Clarendonians – The Tables Gonna Turn
  11. Ken Parker – When You're Gone
  12. Sound Dimension – Traveling Home
  13. Errol Dunkley – Get Up Now
  14. John Holt – My Heart Is Gone
  15. Freedom Singers and Larry Marshall – Monkey Man
  16. The Ethiopians – Let The Light Shine
  17. Im and David – Money Maker
  18. The Viceroys – Lose and Gain

Soul Jazz Records

View More

Dub, Reggae and Dancehall

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences